International Cycling

Stage win a priority for Frank-powered IAM team

2016-06-21 12:51
Mathias Frank (

Paris - Swiss rider Mathias Frank will spearhead the IAM team in their Tour de France challenge from July 2-24 as they bid for a stage win in their third edition of the race.

The team, whose Swiss investment management sponsor are ending their funding at the end of the season, will line up with riders of six different nationalities.

IAM Cycling achieved their first stage win on a big tour thanks to Germany's Roger Kluge, 30, on the Giro d'Italia last May.

Frank finished eighth in the 2015 Tour de France, but was forced to withdraw from the recent Tour of Switzerland because of bronchitis.

He will be joined by Colombian Jarlinson Pantano, winner of the final stage of the Tour of Switzerland and France's Jerome Coppel, a time-trial bronze medallist at last year's world championships.

Norway's Sondre Holst Enger and Belgian Olivier Naesen will be competing in their first Tour.

IAM team:

Jerome Coppel (FRA), Stef Clement (NED), Dries Devenyns (BEL), Martin Elmiger (SUI), Mathias Frank (SUI), Reto Hollenstein (SUI), Sondre Holst Enger (NOR), Oliver Naesen (BEL), Jarlinson Pantano (COL)

Read more on:    tdf 2016  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.