International Cycling

Sagan wins again on Tour of California

2016-05-19 06:59
Peter Sagan (AFP)

San Francisco - Reigning champion Peter Sagan extended his record for Tour of California stage victories on Wednesday, bagging a 15th win in the American cycling showpiece on a gruelling fourth stage.

The Slovak Tinkoff rider bided his time before winning a sprint finish at the famed Laguna Seca motorsport circuit in Monterey, his second triumph of the 2016 race after a victory in Sunday's first stage.

The 2015 world champion had effectively given up hope of retaining his Tour of California crown after a disastrous third stage which left him with no chance of challenging in the general classification.

But Sagan took consolation with victory in Wednesday's fourth stage, a 134.8 mile (217 kilometre) run from Morro Bay up California's scenic Pacific Coast Highway before its climax at Laguna Seca.

The 26-year-old took the line honours with a time of 5hrs 16min 33sec, ahead of Belgium's Greg van Avermaet (BMC Racing) and Australia's Nathan Haas (Dimension Data).

France's Julian Alaphilippe of the Etixx-Quick Step team strengthened his grip on the yellow jersey after finishing in 10th place.

Alaphilippe leads the general classification with an aggregate time of 18:06:17, 22 seconds clear of American rider Peter Stetina of the Trek-Segafredo team.

Lotto's George Bennett remains in third place overall.

Stage five on Thursday sees the peloton start in the rolling hills of northern California's wine country before winding its way to Lake Tahoe in the Sierra Nevada Mountains.

Leading results and standings from the 134.8-mile (217 kilometer) fourth stage of the Tour of California on Wednesday:

Stage result

1. Peter Sagan (SVK/Tinkoff) 5hr 16min 33sec, 2. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL/BMC) same time, 3. Nathan Haas (AUS/Dimension Data) s.t., 4. Brent Bookwalter (USA/BMC Racing) s.t., 5. Tao Geoghegan-Hart (GBR/Axeon Hagens Berman) s.t., 6. Neilson Powless (USA/Axeon Hagens Berman) s.t, 7. Rohan Dennis (AUS/BMC) s.t., 8. Jurgen Van Den Broeck (BEL/Katusha) s.t., 9. Rob Britton (CAN/Rally Cycling) s.t., 10. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/Etixx-Quick Step) s.t.

General classification

1. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/Etixx-Quick Step) 18:06:17 sec, 2. Peter Stetina (USA/Trek-Segafredo) at 22 sec, 3. George Bennett (NZL/Lotto NL-Jumbo) 37, 4. Brent Bookwalter (USA/BMC Racing Team) 40, 5. Neilson Powless (USA/Axeon Hagens Berman) 43, 6. Laurens Ten Dam (NED/Team Giant-Alpecin) 49, 7. Rohan Dennis (AUS/BMC Racing Team) 1:01, 8. Samuel Sanchez (ESP/BMC Racing Team) 1:01, 9. Rob Britton (CAN/Rally Cycling) 1:12, 10. Haimar Zubeldia (ESP/Trek-Segafredo) 1:15

Read more on:    tour of california  |  peter sagan  |  cycling

WWE set to take SA by storm

2017-12-11 08:58

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.