International Cycling

Sagan sprints to Tirreno Stage 3 win

2017-03-10 21:50
Peter Sagan (AFP)

Rome - Double world champion Peter Sagan of Slovakia won the third stage of the Tirreno-Adriatico race on Friday.

Sagan, 27, won a sprint finish ahead of Italy's Elia Viviani and Belgian Jurgen Roelandts at Montalto di Castro.

Australia's Rohan Dennis of BMC pulled on the leader's blue jersey, replacing team-mate and defending overall champion Greg Van Avermaet at the top.

"My season starts now," said Sagan, now recovered from the illness which dented his hopes at last week's Strade Bianche race.

"I hope that this will not be my last victory. Today, there was a little wind and everyone was worried, a little nervous.

"But we managed it and I have to thank my team-mates."

On Saturday, the race which stretches sea-to-sea will see riders taking on the most mountainous stage so far with a finishing point up on Monte Terminillo.


1. Peter Sagan (SVK/ BOH) 4:51:59
2. Elia Viviani (ITA/ SKY) +0
3. Jurgen Roelandts (BEL/ LTS) +0
4. Sacha Modolo (ITA/ UAD) +0
5. Luka Mezgec (SLO/ ORS) +0
6. Rick Zabel (GER/ KAT) +0
7. Andrea Palini (ITA/ ANS) +0
8. Roberto Ferrari (ITA/ UAD) +0
9. Georg Preidler (AUT/ SUN) +0
10. Ramon Sinkeldam (NED/ SUN) +0
11. Geraint Thomas (GBR/ SKY) +0
12. Koen De Kort (NED/ TFS) +0
13. Reto Hollenstein (SUI/ KAT) +0
14. Anthony Roux (FRA/ FDJ) +0
15. Marko Kump (SLO/ UAD) +0
16. Søren Kragh Andersen (DEN/ SUN) +0
17. Fabio Aru (ITA/ AST) +0
18. Ramunas Navardauskas (LTU/ TBM) +0
19. Matteo Trentin (ITA/ QST) +0
20. Mike Teunissen (NED/ SUN) +0
27. Mark Cavendish (GBR/ DDD) +0
30. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/ DDD) +0
48. Mark Renshaw (AUS/ DDD) +0
54. Scott Thwaites (GBR/ DDD) +0
65. Bernhard Eisel (AUT/ DDD) +0
83. Daryl Impey (RSA/ ORS) +0
105. Johann Van Zyl (RSA/ DDD) +2:20
150. Jay Robert Thomson (RSA/ DDD) +9:13
166. Stephen Cummings (GBR/ DDD) +9:13


1. Rohan Denis (AUS/ BMC) 11:07:13
2. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL/ BMC) +0
3. Damiano Caruso (ITA/ BMC) +0
4. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/ BMC) +0
5. Niki Terpstra (NED/ QST) +16
6. Bob Jungels (LUX/ QST) +16
7. Nairo Quintana (COL/ MOV) +21
8. Andrey Amador Bikkazakova (CRC/ MOV) +21
9. Jonathan Castroviejo (ESP/ MOV) +21
10. Daniel Moreno (ESP/ MOV) +21
11. Sébastien Reichenbach (SUI/ FDJ) +21
12. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/ FDJ) +21
13. Adam Yates (GBR/ ORS) +24
14. Primož Roglic (SLO/ TLJ) +39
15. Robert Gesink (NED/ TLJ) +39
16. Tom Dumoulin (NED/ SUN) +49
17. Tim Wellens (BEL/ LTS) +51
18. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/ DDD) +52
19. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/ TBM) +52
20. Fabio Aru (ITA/ AST) +54
56. Scott Thwaites (GBR/ DDD) +3:19
81. Daryl Impey (RSA/ ORS) +7:24
117. Bernhard Eisel (AUT/ DDD) +12:31
118. Stephen Cummings (GBR/ DDD) +12:32
124. Mark Cavendish (GBR/ DDD) +13:25
138. Johann Van Zyl (RSA/ DDD) +14:51
145. Mark Renshaw (AUS/ DDD) +16:18
151. Jay Robert Thomson (RSA/ DDD) +18:36

Read more on:    peter sagan  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.