International Cycling

Quintana wins Tour of Catalonia

2016-03-27 17:29
Nairo Quintana (AP)

Barcelona - Colombia's Nairo Quintana won the Tour of Catalonia on Sunday with the final stage - a 136km circuit around Barcelona's Montjuic area, the site of the 1992 Olympic Games - going to Alexey Tsatevich of Russia.

Quintana, head of the Movistar team, took the lead in what is Spain's oldest stage race at the end of the fourth stage at Port Aine and he never looked like losing that on Sunday.

The Colombian successfully resisted a series of attacks from Chris Froome, Alberto Contador and Dan Martin in a race that featured the majority of this year's contenders for the Tour de France.

While Tsatevich edged out Slovenia's Primoz Roglic in a sprint finish, Quintana finished seven seconds clear of Spain's Contador (Tinkoff) overall with Ireland's Martin (Etixx) in third at 17 seconds off the pace.

Defending Tour de France champion Froome (Team Sky) was forced to settle for eighth place as he ended 46 seconds adrift.

"There's a lot of emotion to have been able to beat my rivals. It gives me confidence that we are working well," said Quintana, who, like Froome, was racing for the first time in Europe this season.

However, he was mindful not to read too much into the result, adding: "I won the Tour of Catalonia by seven seconds, which isn't very much."

Stage 7

1. Alexey Tsatevich (RUS/KAT) 3h13:33, 2. Primoz Roglic (SLO/LNL) at 0:00, 3. Jarlinson Pantano (COL/IAM) 0:14, 4. Wout Poels (NED/SKY) 0:14, 5. Daryl Impey (RSA/ORI) 0:14, 6. Rigoberto Uran (COL/CAN) 0:14, 7. Rudy Molard (FRA/COF) 0:14, 8. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) 0:14, 9. Enrico Gasparotto (ITA/AJW) 0:14, 10. Carlos Barbero (ESP/CJR) 0:14

Final standings

1. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 30h50:19, 2. Alberto Contador (ESP/TIN) at 0:07, 3. Daniel Martin (IRL/ETI) 0:17, 4. Richie Porte (AUS/BMC) 0:17, 5. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 0:27, 6. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) 0:31, 7. Ilnur Zakarin (RUS/KAT) 0:42, 8. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 0:46, 9. Hugh Carthy (GBR/CJR) 1:01, 10. Rigoberto Uran (COL/CAN) 1:16.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.