International Cycling

Quintana grabs Romandie lead

2016-04-28 18:28
Nairo Quintana (AP)

Morgins - Colombia's Nairo Quintana seized control of the Tour de Romandie by winning Thursday's second stage in Morgins after defending champion Ilnur Zakarin was stripped of his victory.

Quintana, who was jostling with fellow escapee Zakarin in a sprint finish, crossed the line in second behind the Russian, before the Katusha rider was downgraded by race officials for interfering with his rival.

"Zakarin would have won anyway but he boxed me in. I'm not commenting on the decision of the judges," said Quintana.

"It's not easy to win here given the plateau. Being able to do so is a very good sign."

The pair finished 26 seconds ahead of a group headed by Portugal's Rui Costa, with Rigoberto Uran and Thibaut Pinot also clocking the same time in the Swiss mountain village.

Podium hopefuls Rafal Majka, Bauke Mollema and 2010 winner Simon Spilak all finished together as well, but American Tejay van Garderen lost over a minute.

Chris Froome's hopes of a third title - after wins in 2013 and 2014 - went up in smoke as the Briton was slowed by a puncture 20 kilometres from the finish and found himself well off the pace even before the final climb of the 174km route from Moudon, the Tour de France champion finishing over 17 minutes in arrears.

Quintana, who was second to Froome at last year's Tour, took over the leader's jersey from Ion Izagirre and goes into Friday's 15.1km individual time trial around Sion with an 18-second advantage over Zakarin.

Results from the Tour de Romandie second stage, a 173.9km ride from Moudon to Morgins on Thursday:

1. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 4hr 26min 40sec, 2. Ilnur Zakarin (RUS/KAT) same time, 3. Rui Costa (POR/LAM) at 26 sec, 4. Rigoberto Uran (COL/CAN) s.t., 5. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) s.t., 6. Ion Izagirre (ESP/MOV) s.t., 7. Rafal Majka (POL/TIN) s.t., 8. Mathias Frank (SUI/IAM) s.t., 9. Pierre Rolland (FRA/CAN) s.t., 10. Simon Spilak (SLO/KAT) s.t.

Selected others:

11. Bauke Mollema (NED/TRE) s.t., 16. Tom Dumoulin (NED/GIA) 57, 19. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) s.t., 20. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 1:01, 99. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 17:30.


1. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 7hr 02min 05sec, 2. Ilnur Zakarin (RUS/KAT) at 18sec, 3. Ion Izagirre (ESP/MOV) 20, 4. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) 32, 5. Rui Costa (POR/LAM) 36, 6. Mathias Frank (SUI/IAM) 37, 7. Simon Spilak (SLO/KAT) 42, 8. Pierre Rolland (FRA/CAN) 43, 9. Bauke Mollema (NED/TRE) 44, 10. Rigoberto Uran (COL/CAN) 46.

Selected others:

12. Rafal Majka (POL/TIN) 47, 13. Tom Dumoulin (NED/GIA) 57, 14. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) 58, 16. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 1:06, 93. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 17:50.

Read more on:    nairo quintana  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.