International Cycling

Mollema wins San Sebastian Classic

2016-07-30 18:24
Bauke Mollema (File)

San Sebastian - The Netherlands' Bauke Mollema won the 220-kilometre San Sebastian Classic in Spain on Saturday just days after a disappointing end to the Tour de France.

The Trek rider went into the hilly race in the Basque Country on the back of an 11th place finish in the Tour de France, after initially giving winner Chris Froome a run for his money.

"I really like this race," the 29-year-old said in a press conference.

"It's a race that suits me very well with longer climbs, and a steep one at the finish."

Mollema broke away from a small group of four riders in the final descent, crossing the finishing line before 2013 winner Tony Gallopin (Lotto), who came second followed by Spain's Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) and Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha).

Colombia's Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale), then Britain's Adam Yates, were the first to go on the offensive as the end neared.

Yates was then challenged by Rodriguez, 37, who rode his last "Klasikoa" after announcing he will retire at the end of the year.

But Rodriguez was caught up by Mollema, Valverde - double winner of the race in 2008 and 2014 - and Gallopin.

Mollema broke away in the final descent and would never be caught up by the other three.

Meanwhile Spanish rider Alberto Contador, who returned to competition after a fall ended his Tour de France ambitions, remained discreet throughout.

He must come back to form for the Tour of Spain from August 20-September 11, his main objective for the end of the season after pulling out of the Rio Olympics.

The San Sebastian Classic was also the last rehearsal for many riders before the Olympics, which kick off on August 6.

"After the Tour de France, the Olympics are a big goal for me," Mollema told reporters.

"This will motivate me even more. I'm really looking forward to going there. We have a very strong team this year."

Results of the San Sebastian Classic, a 220.2km ride around the Spanish seaside resort, on Saturday:

1. Bauke Mollema (NED/TFS) 5hr 31min 00sec, 2. Tony Gallopin (FRA/LTS) at 17sec, 3. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) same time, 4. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) 22sec, 5. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL/BMC) 34sec, 6. Gianluca Brambilla (ITA/EQS) s.t., 7. Simon Yates (ENG/OBE) s.t., 8. Tom-Jelte Slagter (NED/CDT) s.t., 9. Nicolas Roche (IRL/SKY) s.t., 10. Dries Devenyns (BEL/IAM) 37 sec.

Read more on:    cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.