International Cycling

Kristoff wins Tour of California Stage 7

2016-05-22 07:50
Alexander Kristoff (Getty Images)

San Francisco - Norway's Alexander Kristoff won the seventh and penultimate stage of the Tour of California on Saturday as Frenchman Julian Alaphilippe retained the yellow jersey to stay on course for victory in the overall standings.

Katusha rider Kristoff, perfectly worked into position by his team-mates, prevailed in a sprint finish to come home ahead of Slovak Peter Sagan (Tinkoff) and Sky rider Danny van Poppel of the Netherlands.

Alaphilippe, of Etixx-Quick Step, finished 14th but is all but guaranteed victory in the general classification when the US cycling showpiece winds to a close on Sunday.

The French rider withstood a day of repeated attacks on the 109.1-mile stage through the famed California wine region of Sonoma before finishing the day with a 16-second overall lead.

Alaphilippe has a total time of 28hr 46min 38secs, ahead of nearest rival Rohan Dennis of Australia (BMC) and Brent Bookwalter (BMC).

Sunday's 85.7-mile final stage will start and finish in Sacramento over a course expected to favor the peloton's sprinters.

Leading results and standings after stage seven of the Tour of California on Saturday:

Stage result:

1. Alexander Kristoff (NOR/Katusha) 4hr 19min 52sec, 2. Peter Sagan (SVK/Tinkoff) same time, 3. Danny van Poppel (NED/SKY) s.t., 4. Mike Teunissen (NED/LottoNL-Jumbo) s.t., 5. Bryan Coquard (FRA/Direct Energie) s.t., 6. Jasper Stuyven (BEL/Trek) s.t., 7. Travis McCabe (USA/Holowesko) s.t.,8. John Degenkolb (GER/Giant) s.t., 9. Timo Roosen (NED/LottoNL-Jumbo) s.t., 10. Ruben Guerreiro (POR/Axeon) s.t.

Overall standings:

1. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/Etixx-Quick-Step) 28hr 46min 38sec, 2. Rohan Dennis (AUS/BMC) at 16sec, 3. Brent Bookwalter (USA/BMC) 38, 4. Andrew Talansky (USA/Cannondale) 47, 5. Neilson Powless (USA/Axeon) 1min 8sec, 6. Samuel Sanchez (ESP/BMC) 1:17, 7. Lawson Craddock (USA/Cannondale) s.t., 8. Laurens ten Dam (NED/Giant) 1:24, 9. George Bennett (NZL/Lotto-Jumbo) 1:45, 10. Jurgen Van den Broeck (BEL/Katusha) 1:48

Read more on:    alexander kristoff  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.