International Cycling

Kristoff takes first stage of De Panne

2016-03-29 19:17
Alexander Kristoff (AFP)

Brussels - Alexander Kristoff proved he has rediscovered his form ahead of the defence of his Tour of Flanders title as he won the first stage of Three Days of De Panne on Tuesday.

The Norwegian edged out Astana pair Alexei Lutsenko and Lieuwe Westra in a sprint finish at the end of the 198km stage from De Panne to Zottegem.

Kristoff won the race last year as well before going on to claim Tour of Flanders glory just three days later.

It was a welcome return to form for the 28-year-old had seemed out of sorts last week at E3 Harelbeke and then Gent-Wevelgem, the first two cobbled classics of the season.

He had complained of having "no legs" at E3 and was ill two days later at Sunday's Gent-Wevelgem race.

"I've been a bit sick, and I think I needed this day," said Kristoff. 

"I hope I have better legs tomorrow, I was suffering all day today. In the end I managed to win but I was really struggling."

Katusha's Kristoff, who won three of the four stages last year, now leads by a second from Kazakh Lutsenko and six seconds to Dutchman Westra in the overall standings.

At the start of the day's racing, the peloton observed a minute's silence in memory of Belgian duo Antoine Demoitie and Daan Myngheer, who died on Sunday and Monday respectively.

Demoitie, 25, died after crashing with a motorbike during Gent-Wevelgem.

Myngheer, 22, suffered a heart attack during the Criterium International.

Wednesday's second stage is 211km long from Zottegem to Koksijde.

Results from Tuesday's 198km first stage of the Three Days of De Panne race from De Panne to Zottegem:

1. Alexander Kristoff (NOR/Katusha) 4hr 22min 34sec, 2. Alexei Lutsenko (KAZ) same time, 3. Lieuwe Westra (NED) s.t., 4. Mads Pedersen (DEN) at 29sec, 5. Luke Rowe (GBR) s.t., 6. Pim Ligthart (NED) 36, 7. Manuel Belletti (ITA) s.t., 8. Juraj Sagan (SVK) s.t., 9. Sean De Bie (BEL) s.t., 10. Marco Haller (AUT) s.t.

Overall standings:

1. Alexander Kristoff (NOR) 4hr 22 min 24sec, 2. Alexei Lutsenko (KAZ) at 1sec, 3. Lieuwe Westra (NED) 6, 4. Mads Pedersen (DEN) 39, 5. Luke Rowe (GBR) s.t., 6. Tony Martin (GER) 44, 7. Pim Ligthart (NED) 46, 8. Manuel Belletti (ITA) s.t., 9. Juraj Sagan (SVK) s.t., 10. Sean De Bie (BEL) s.t.

Read more on:    alexander kristoff  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.