International Cycling

Kittel takes Romandie Stage 1 sprint

2016-04-27 21:02
Marcel Kittel (AFP)

Moudon - Germany's Marcel Kittel claimed the weather-curtailed first stage of the Tour de Romandie in a sprint finish on Wednesday.

The start was scheduled for La Chaux-de-Fonds but with the threat of ice and hail the riders started from Mathon, reducing the circuit to 100km.

Kittel (Etixx) saw off Italy's Niccolo Bonifazio by half a wheel length with Swiss rider Michael Albasini in third.

Spaniard Ion Izagirre retained the lead in the overall standings after his surprise success in Tuesday's prologue.

Wednesday's shortened ride was lit up by Sander Arme's breakaway with the Belgian rider only caught 13km from the finish.

The 27-year-old Kittel capitalised on the work of his team-mates in the closing kilometres and reacted quickly when Albasini made the first burst for the line.

"I didn't have my usual team-mates around me as Etixx have mainly selected climbers for this race. But that didn't stop them from doing excellent work," said Kittel.

"They can also be proud of this success."

Thursday's second stage is a 173.9km ride from Moudon to the 1 350m altitude finish at Morgins, near Switzerland's border with France.

Results of the Tour de Romandie first stage, a 100.5km ride from La Chaux-de-Fond to Moudon on Wednesday:

1. Marcel Kittel (GER/ETI) 2hr 27min 46sec, 2. Niccolo Bonifazio (ITA/TRE) at 0:00, 3. Michael Albasini (SUI/ORI) 0:00, 4. Tosh Van der Sande (BEL/LOT) 0:00, 5. Ramunas Navardauskas (LTU/CAN) 0:00, 6. Davide Cimolai (ITA/LAM) 0:00, 7. Samuel Dumoulin (FRA/ALM) 0:00, 8. Enrico Gasparotto (ITA/AJW) 0:00, 9. Kristian Sbaragli (ITA/DDT) 0:00, 10. Ilnur Zakarin (RUS/KAT) 0:00.


16. Rui Costa (POR/LAM) 0:00, 22. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) 0:00, 34. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 0:00, 36. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 0:00, 37. Ion Izagirre (ESP/MOV) 0:00, 48. Richie Porte (AUS/BMC) 0:00.


1. Ion Izagirre (ESP/MOV) 2hr 33min 19sec, 2. Tom Dumoulin (NED/GIA) at 0:06sec, 3. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) 0:07, 4. Gorka Izagirre (ESP/MOV) 0:08, 5. Moreno Moser (ITA/CAN) 0:09, 6. Reto Hollenstein (SUI/IAM) 0:11, 7. Louis Vervaeke (BEL/LOT) 0:11, 8. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 0:11, 9. Martijn Keizer (NED/LNL) 0:12, 10. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) 0:12


12. Marcel Kittel (GER/ETI) 0:13, 16. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 0:16, 31. Rui Costa (POR/LAM) 0:20, 54. Rigoberto Uran (COL/CAN) 0:26., 55. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 0:26, 59. Ryder Hesjedal (CAN/TRE) 0:27, 68. Ilnur Zakarin (RUS/KAT) 0:30, 87. Richie Porte (AUS/BMC) 0:37.

Read more on:    marcel kittel  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.