International Cycling

Keukeleire wins sprint, Quintana keeps red jersey

2016-09-01 19:30
Cycling (File)

Bilbao - Belgium's Jens Keukeleire won a bunch sprint to clinch the 12th stage of the Vuelta a Espana on Thursday as Nairo Quintana retained the overall lead.

The 193.2km hilly race to Basque city Bilbao allowed Colombian Quintana and second-placed Chris Froome to take a backseat ahead of Saturday's trip into the Pyrenees, where they're likely to resume hostilities.

Sky's Tour de France champion Froome is just 54 seconds back on red jersey holder Quintana in the overall standings, with Alejandro Valverde third at 1:05.

While Quintana is believed capable of extending his overall lead this weekend, Briton Froome will have a significant edge over the Colombian in the 20th stage 37km individual time trial.

The 27-year-old Keukeleire of Orica easily won a dash to the line on Thursday as France's Maxime Bouet of Etixx came second and Italy's Fabio Felline of Trek took third.

"I suffered for this win, but I wasn't the only one out there suffering," Keukeleire said after his first major Tour stage success.

"It's just a fantastic feeling to win a stage."

Friday's stage is a 213.4km run featuring four small hills as the peloton heads through France before arriving at Urdax Dantxarinea.

Results and standings from the 193.2km 12th stage of the Vuelta a Espana from Los Corrales de Buelna to Bilbao on Thursday:

1. Jens Keukeleire (BEL/ORI) 4hr 31min 43sec, 2. Maxime Bouet (FRA/ETI) same time, 3. Fabio Felline (ITA/TRE) s.t., 4. Kristian Sbaragli (ITA/DDT) s.t., 5. Luis Leon Sanchez (ESP/AST) s.t., 6. Peio Bilbao (ESP/CJR) s.t., 7. Jan Bakelants (BEL/ALM) s.t., 8. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) s.t., 9. Silvan Dillier (SUI/BMC) s.t., 10. Mathias Frank (SUI/IAM) s.t.

Selected others

16. Esteban Chaves (COL/ORI) s.t., 20. Christopher Froome (GBR/SKY) s.t., 26. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) s.t., 30. Alberto Contador (ESP/TIN) s.t., 32. Simon Yates (GBR/ORI) s.t.

Overall standings

1. Nairo Quintana (COL/Movistar) 46h 53:31, 2. Christopher Froome (GBR/SKY) at 0:54, 3. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 1:05, 4. Esteban Chaves (COL/ORI) 2:34, 5. Alberto Contador (ESP/TIN) 3:08, 6. Leopold Konig (CZE/SKY) 3:09, 7. Simon Yates (GBR/ORI) 3:25, 8. Michele Scarponi (ITA/AST) 3:34, 9. David de la Cruz (ESP/ETI) 3:45, 10. Samuel Sanchez (ESP/BMC) 3:56

Read more on:    vuelta a espana  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.