International Cycling

Henao beats Contador by 2 seconds for Paris-Nice win

2017-03-12 18:54
Sergio Henao (Gallo Images)

Nice - Colombia's Sergio Henao lifted his troubled Sky team's spirits with a dramatic two-second success over Alberto Contador in the Paris-Nice on Sunday.

Henao set up the win when grabbing a half-minute lead in the 'Race to the Sun' with fourth in Saturday's penultimate stage.

But the 29-year-old only scraped home in the face of a determined challenge from Contador.

The Spaniard, placed third at 31 seconds at the start of the day, took second in the closing eighth stage behind his fellow countryman David de la Cruz.

Stage success for De la Cruz (Quick Step) denied Contador 10 precious bonus seconds which would have seen him and not Henao take overall victory.

"It was a crazy day," beamed Henao.

"This is the biggest win of my career, I hope it means more will follow.

"I've had some tough times in my life, but today the sun came out for me."

For Contador it was a cruel near miss coming after he had been edged out by just four seconds by Geraint Thomas 12 months ago.

"I only missed out by a tiny bit, it's a shame," he said.

"I'm very proud of what I did and I'm satisfied despite finishing second."

Ireland's Dan Martin completed the final podium, half a minute behind Henao who became the second Colombian to win the race after Carlos Betancur in 2014.

Team Sky have won five of the past six editions courtesy of Bradley Wiggins (2012), Richie Porte (2013, 2015), Thomas (2016) and Henao.

The British team have been hit by doping and sexism rows in recent weeks, their reputation taking a battering as a result.

Henao had said he hoped to see out the win for beleaguered team chief Dave Brailsford.

Results of the Paris Nice race's final eighth stage, a 115.5km ride around Nice on Sunday:

1. David de la Cruz (ESP/QST) 2hr 48min 53sec, 2. Alberto Contador (ESP/TRE) s.t., 3. Marc Soler (ESP/MOV) at 5sec, 4. Sonny Colbrelli (ITA/BAH) 21, 5. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/QST) 21, 6. Michael Matthews (AUS/SUN) 21, 7. Diego Ulissi (ITA/EAU) 21, 8. Gorka Izagirre (ESP/MOV) 21, 9. Arnold Jeannesson (FRA/FVC) 21, 10. Lilian Calmejane (FRA/DEN) 21, 11. Nicolas Edet (FRA/COF) 21, 12. Sergio Henao (COL/SKY) 21, 13. Dan Martin (IRL/QST) 21, 14. Ilnur Zakarin (RUS/KAT) 21, 15. Simon Yates (GBR/ORI) 21


1. Sergio Henao (COL/SKY) 29hr 50min 29sec, 2. Alberto Contador (ESP/TRE) at 2sec, 3. Dan Martin (IRL/QST) 30, 4. Gorka Izagirre (ESP/MOV) 1:00, 5. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/QST) 1:22, 6. Ilnur Zakarin (RUS/KAT) 1:34, 7. Ion Izagirre (ESP/BAH) 1:41, 8. Warren Barguil (FRA/SUN) 4:07, 9. Simon Yates (GBR/ORI) 4:39, 10. Tony Gallopin (FRA/LOT) 9:14, 11. Richie Porte (AUS/BMC) 14:26, 12. Jakob Fuglsang (DEN/AST) 18:07, 13. Philippe Gilbert (BEL/QST) 19:33, 14. Sam Oomen (NED/SUN) 20:08, 15. Romain Hardy (FRA/FVC) 20:25.

Read more on:    team sky  |  paris-nice race  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.