International Cycling

Greipel charges to Paris-Nice Stage 5 win

2017-03-09 20:55
Andre Greipel (File)

Bourg-de-Page - Germany's Andre Greipel powered past his sprint rivals to win Thursday's fifth stage of the Paris-Nice race ahead of Frenchman Arnaud Demare.

French Quick-Step rider Julian Alaphilippe retained the leader's yellow jersey, a day after securing a dominant time-trial victory at Mont Brouilly, near Lyon.

After the threat of an initial six-man breakaway group subsided, Greipel patiently waited in the shadows of Demare before bursting clear in the final sprint at the end of the 199.5km route from Quincie-en-Beaujolais to Bourg-de-Peage.

The 34-year-old made the most of a final opportunity for the sprinters in this year's 'Race to the Sun', with a series of climbs awaiting the peloton on each of the concluding three stages.

"In this Paris-Nice, the goal was to win a stage and that's done. I was very disappointed Tuesday after my sprint. I was furious with myself," said Greipel, reflecting on the third stage that was surprisingly won by Ireland's Sam Bennett.

"I waited for as long as possible," added the German, who finished ahead of Demare and Dutchman Dylan Groenewegen to register his first win at World Tour level this year.

Alaphilippe kept hold of his 33-second lead over compatriot Tony Gallopin in the general classification but warned of the challenges that could lie ahead going into the weekend.

"Another race starts now. Each of the three stages are going to bring surprises. Tomorrow (Friday) it could be a breakaway, like a fireworks display," said Alaphilippe.

"If I have to attack to defend my yellow yersey, I'll do it."

Friday's sixth stage will take the riders 193.5km from Aubagne to Fayence and features five ascents before the final short, but sharp summit finish climb.

Leading results from the fifth stage of the Paris-Nice, a 199.5km route from Quincie-en-Beaujolais to Bourg-de-Peage on Thursday:

1. Andre Greipel (GER/Lotto) 4hr 43min 35sec, 2. Arnaud Demare (FRA/FDJ) same time, 3. Dylan Groenewegen (NED/LNL) s.t., 4. Michael Matthews (AUS/SUN) s.t., 5. John Degenkolb (GER/TRE) s.t., 6. Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN/ORI) s.t., 7. Marcel Kittel (GER/QST) s.t., 8. Bryan Coquard (FRA/DEN) s.t., 9. Sonny Colbrelli (ITA/BAH) s.t., 10. Sam Bennett (IRL/BOA) s.t.

Overall standings

1. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/QST) 17hr 20min 02sec, 2. Tony Gallopin (FRA/LOT) at 0:33, 3. Gorka Izagirre (ESP/MOV) 0:47, 4. Sergio Henao (COL/SKY) 1:05, 5. Daniel Martin (IRL/QST) 1:20, 6. Philippe Gilbert (BEL/QST) 1:24, 7. Ilnur Zakarin (RUS/KAT) 1:28, 8. Arnaud Demare (FRA/FDJ) 1:29, 9. Alberto Contador (ESP/TRE) 1:31, 10. Rudy Molard (FRA/FDJ) 1:32.

Selected others

34. Richie Porte (AUS/BMC) 16:01

Read more on:    paris-nice race  |  andre greipel  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.