International Cycling

Gilbert claims fourth Amstel Gold victory

2017-04-16 19:04
Philippe Gilbert (AFP)

Valkenburg - Philippe Gilbert continued his fine start to the season by winning the prestigious Amstel Gold Race for the fourth time on Sunday -- and then made short work of a celebratory beer on the podium.

At the end of a punishing 260km course that included 35 climbs, Belgian Gilbert outsprinted 2015 winner Michal Kwiatkowski of Poland in a tactical finale.

"In the end with Kwiato we went hard, I saw the guys behind were on the limit -- I was too but if you can find one or two percent more it makes the difference," Gilbert told television cameras.

"I told him (Kwiatkowski), 'We ride until the last K (kilometre) and the best man wins'. That's the best deal you can make."

The two breakaway leaders were slowly being caught by five chasers as they played cat and mouse in the final kilometre, with Gilbert teasing Kwiatkowski into launching his bid for victory first, with more than 300 metres left.

Kwiatkowski tied up allowing Gilbert to streak past in the final metres, holding up four fingers as he claimed victory in the battle between two former world champions.

"He surprised me a little in the sprint, but it was a headwind so I didn't panic, and I saw I was getting closer and closer, and it was perfect for me in the end," said Gilbert.

Switzerland's Michael Albasini won the five-man sprint for third place while Belgium's Greg Van Avermaet, the star performer of the season so far, could manage only 12th.

Gilbert won the Tour of Flanders two weeks ago and also the Three Days of De Panne in the week leading up to that as he enjoyed a successful cobbled classics season that included second-place finishes at Dwars door Vlaanderen and E3 Harelbeke.

Kwiatkowski had also been in great shape, winning Milan-San Remo -- which like the Tour of Flanders is one of cycling's "Monument" races -- and Strade Bianche while finishing second at the Tour of the Algarve.

Results from Sunday's 261km Amstel Gold Race from Maastricht to Valkenburg:

1. Philippe Gilbert (BEL/QST) 6hr 33min 55sec, 2. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/SKY) same time, 3. Michael Albasini (SUI/ORI) at 10sec, 4. Nathan Haas (AUS/DDT) s.t., 5. Jose Joaquin Rojas (ESP/MOV) s.t., 6. Sergio Henao (COL/SKY) s.t., 7. Ion Izagirre (ESP/BAH) 14, 8. Michael Gogl (AUT/TRE) 1:10, 9. Sonny Colbrelli (ITA/BAH) 1:11, 10. Michael Matthews (AUS/SUN) s.t.

Selected others

12. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL/BMC) s.t., 19. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) s.t.

Read more on:    philippe gilbert  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.