International Cycling

Gaviria wins Tirreno 6th stage, Quintana in blue

2017-03-13 19:42
Nairo Quintana (Getty Images)

Rome - Colombia's Fernando Gaviria won Monday's sixth and penultimate stage of the Tirreno-Adriatico as his compatriot Nairo Quintana retained the leader's blue jersey.

Gaviria held off world champion Peter Sagan and Jasper Stuyven in a sprint finish to the 166km ride from Ascoli Piceno to Civitanova Marche on the Adriatic.

Ahead of Tuesday's final day Quintana heads the general classification by 50sec from Thibaut Pinot of France with Australian Rohan Dennis at 1min 06sec in third.

Quick Step rider Gaviria was thrilled to get a stage win on the board.

"On stage three, I crashed and the legs weren't excellent, but now I'm going well," the 22-year-old said.

"It's always a nice duel with Peter Sagan but also a fight with the other riders. I'm glad I got this one."

Gaviria, who is targeting Saturday's Milan-San Remo, added: "We really wanted to win. This was the first day for the sprinters.

"The climb before the finish made the race a little Milan-San Remo today."

Tuesday's concluding seventh stage is a 10km time trial at San Benedetto del Tronto.

Should Quintana seal his second Tirreno-Adriatico he will be the second Colombian winner of a stage race in 48 hours after Sergio Henao's success in the Paris-Nice on Sunday.

Results from the sixth stage of Tirreno-Adriatico, held over 159km between Ascoli Piceno and Civitanova Marche on Monday:


1. Fernando Gaviria (COL/ETI) 4hr 09min 31sec (average: 38.2 km/h), 2. Peter Sagan (SVK/BOA) at 0:00, 3. Jasper Stuyven (BEL/TRE) 0:00, 4. Matteo Trentin (ITA/ETI) 0:00, 5. Jens Debusschere (BEL/LOT) 0:00, 6. Elia Viviani (ITA/SKY) 0:00, 7. Scott Thwaites (GBR/DDT) 0:00, 8. Eduard-Michael Grosu (ROM/NIP) 0:00, 9. Anthony Roux (FRA/FDJ) 0:00, 10. Jrgen Roelandts (BEL/LOT) 0:00


1. Nairo Quintana (COL/Movistar) 25hr 44min 28sec, 2. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) at 0:50sec, 3. Rohan Dennis (AUS/BMC) 1:06, 4. Primoz Roglic (SLO/LNL) 1:15, 5. Tom Dumoulin (NED/GIA) 1:19, 6. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) 1:23, 7. Rigoberto Uran (COL/CAN) 1:30, 8. Jonathan Castroviejo (ESP/MOV) 1:32, 9. Bauke Mollema (NED/TRE) 1:37, 10. Simon Spilak (SLO/KAT) 1:59.


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.