International Cycling

Froome storms to Dauphine stage win

2016-06-10 23:13
Chris Froome (File)

Vaujany - Britain's reigning Tour de France champion Chris Froome grabbed the overall lead of the Criterium du Dauphine on Friday after racing to victory in the fifth stage.

Froome took the leader's jersey from his great rival Alberto Contador, who could only come home fifth in the mountain finish of Vaujany and was left 27 seconds adrift overall.

Team Sky rider Froome pipped Australian Richie Porte to the line after they broke away late in the stage from the rest of the pack and claimed victory to fire an ominous warning in the lead-up to this year's Tour.

Another Briton, Adam Yates, was third and Ireland's Dan Martin fourth.

Froome, 31, won the Dauphine in 2013 and 2015 - and each time went on to ride to victory in the Tour de France.

"It's a great feeling to have the yellow jersey," said Froome. "It's a good sensation but there's a lot of time to go between now and the Tour de France."

Despite his advantage, Froome refused to write off Contador.

"He was probably not so well today although I didn't expect such a big difference on such a short climb," said the Briton.

"But I have raced against him many times before and he will never give up. We will see what happens tomorrow."

Results and standings after stage five of the Criterium du Dauphine from La Ravoire to Vaujany on Friday:


1. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY), 3hrs 32min 20sec, 2. Richie Porte (AUS/BMC) at 1sec, 3. Adam Yates (GBR/ORI) at 19, 4. Dan Martin (IRL/ETI) at 19, 5. Alberto Contador (ESP/TIN) at 21, 6. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) at 25, 7. Pierre Rolland (FRA/CAN) at 27, 8. Bauke Mollema (NED/TRE) at 27, 9. Louis Meintjes (RSA/LAM) at 27, 10. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/ETI) at 27.

Overall standings

1. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 21hrs 24 mins 59 sec, 2. Richie Porte (AUS/BMC) at 7sec, 3. Alberto Contador (ESP/TIN) at 27sec, 4. Daniel Martin (IRL/ETI) at 37sec, 5. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/ETI) at 42sec, 6. Adam Yates (GBR/ORI) at 52sec, 7. Diego Rosa (ITA/AST) at 1:08, 8. Daniel Navarro (ESP/COF) at 1:16, 9. Bauke Mollema (NED/TRE) at 1:21, 10. Louis Meintjes (RSA/LAM) at 1:27.

Read more on:    chris froome  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.