International Cycling

Froome shows early class as Sky take over

2016-02-04 14:56
British cyclist Chris Froome has won the Tour of Andalucia. (AFP)

Melbourne - British national champion Peter Kennaugh stormed through the first stage of the Herald Sun Tour on Thursday with Chris Froome at his side as Team Sky took charge.

The pair broke away after 97km of the 126.1km stage through Victoria's Yarra Valley and could not be caught.

The Sky leaders shared the winning time of three hours, one minute and 47 seconds but Kennaugh took the overall lead by seven seconds with the double Tour de France winner in second.

Froome and Kennaugh, who won the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race at the weekend, launched their attack on the second of two climbs.

They finished with a 17-second advantage over a 29-man chase group led by Kiwi Dion Smith (One) who won the sprint for third.

"The race last week gave us quite a bit of confidence going into today," Kennaugh said.

"We had a plan for today's stage which worked out absolutely perfectly. It was to make it hard going into that last climb for 'Froomey' to have a go... I was just to follow wheels and judge the situation. 

"If I felt like I could jump across, then do that... once I got across to him I pretty much just sat on his wheel the whole way up the climb," Kennaugh said.

Despite the Herald Sun being his first event for five months, Froome warned it would now be up to the rest of the peloton to catch him and Kennaugh.

"We're going to try and protect that (lead) now," he said.

"Pete's in great shape, he won Cadel's race just a few days ago. We'll try and keep the jersey on his shoulders."

Australian Will Clarke (Drapac) won the prologue on Wednesday but came in 33rd on Thursday, three minutes in arrears.

Friday's second stage covers 144.2km through grazing farmland from Yarra Glen to Moe.

Results and standings after the first stage of the Herald Sun Tour in Melbourne on Thursday:

Stage 1

1. Peter Kennaugh (ENG/SKY) 3hours 1min 47 seconds, 2. Chris Froome (ENG/SKY) same time, 3. Dion Smith (ONE) at 17sec, 4. Anthony GIACOPPO (AUS/AIW) s.t., 5. Jack Haig (AUS/OGE) s.t.


1. Peter Kennaugh (ENG/SKY) 3hr 04min 16sec, 2. Chris Froome (ENG/SKY) at 7sec, 3. Dion Smith (NZL/ONE) at 23sec, 4 Robbie Hucker (AUS/AIW) at 25sec,5. Joseph Cooper (AUS/AIW) at 26sec.

Read more on:    chris froome  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.