International Cycling

Froome extends Vuelta lead as Lopez wins Stage 11

2017-08-30 19:11
Chris Froome (Getty)

Calar Alto - Chris Froome tightened his grip on the Vuelta a Espana on Wednesday with an eye-catching second to Colombia's Miguel Angel Lopez in the mountainous 11th stage.

Astana rider Lopez secured the biggest win of his career when he burst clear of a breakaway group in the closing two kilometres of the challenging 187.5km ride from Lorca to the summit finish in Calar Alto.

"I'm very happy, the rain made the stage difficult, but the team worked very well," said the 23-year-old Lopez, participating in just his second Grand Tour.

"I was familiar with the climb and I preferred to wait to attack a kilometre or a kilometre and a half from the finish."

Froome, hoping to add this to his triumph in this season's Tour de France, crossed in second, 14 seconds adrift, to retain the overall leader's red jersey and extend his lead to 1:19.

"I'm very happy with the outcomes from today. It was a very selective day for the GC. To finish second, I couldn't ask for much more than that," said Froome.

Italy's Vincenzo Nibali took third, lifting him into second above Colombian Esteban Chaves in the overall standings.

The big loser on the day's ride in rain was Ireland's Nicolas Roche, who started the day 36 seconds behind Froome but ended it staring at a 4:45 deficit, dropping him from third to 11th in the general classification.

Froome is aiming to become only the third man to win the Tour and Vuelta in the same year.

Thursday's 12th stage is a 160km ride from Motril to Antequera featuring a first and second category climb.

Results from Wednesday's 11th stage of the Vuelta a Espana, a 187.5km ride from Lorca to Calar Alto:

1. Miguel Angel Lopez (COL/AST) 5hr 05min 09sec, 2. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) at 14sec, 3. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/BAH) 0:14, 4. Wilco Kelderman (NED/SUN) 0:14, 5. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) 0:31, 6. Alberto Contador (ESP/TRE) 0:31, 7. Ilnur Zakarin (RUS/KAT) 0:31, 8. Mikel Nieve (ESP/SKY) 0:31, 9. Darwin Atapuma (COL/EAU) 1:02, 10. David De la Cruz (ESP/QST) 1:14

Selected others:

15. Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) 1:32, 17. Esteban Chaves (COL/ORI) 2:05, 21. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 3:26, 28. Nicolas Roche (IRL/BMC) 4:17

Overall standings

1. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 45hr 18min 01sec, 2. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/BAH) at 1min 19sec, 3. Esteban Chaves (COL/ORI) 2:33, 4. David De la Cruz (ESP/QST) 2:36, 5. Wilco Kelderman (NED/SUN) 2:37, 6. Ilnur Zakarin (RUS/KAT) 2:38, 7. Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) 2:57, 8. Michael Woods (CAN/CAN) 3:01, 9. Alberto Contador (ESP/TRE) 3:55, 10. Miguel Angel Lopez (COL/AST) 4:11.

Selected others:

11. Nicolas Roche (IRL/BMC) 4:45, 12. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 4:45, 24. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) 21:37

Read more on:    vuelta a espana  |  chris froome  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.