International Cycling

Froome extends Vuelta lead

2017-08-23 18:47
Chris Froome (Getty)

Alcocber - Chris Froome extended his lead in the Vuelta a Espana as Kazakh Alexey Lutsenko won Wednesday's rolling fifth stage.

Froome crossed the line in 14th place in the wheel of long-time rival Alberto Contador some four and half minutes after Astana's Lutsenko.

Three riders had started the day just two seconds behind Froome but all lost time.

Tejay van Garderen moved up to second at 10 seconds after coming in just eight seconds behind Froome while Colombian Esteban Chaves is third at 11sec after crossing the line alongside the British leader.

But Italian former winners Vincenzo Nibali and Fabio Aru both lost time to now sit sixth and seventh respectively at 36sec and 49sec.

Spain's David De La Cruz started the day second but dropped to fifth at 23sec.

British twins Adam and Simon Yates -- winners of the young rider competition at the Tour de France these last two years -- are eighth and ninth respectively at 50sec and 1min 09sec.

But despite winning a fourth Tour just over a month ago, Froome showed no signs of tiredness as his Sky team set the pace on the steep run-in to the finish, allowing him to gain time on many overall rivals.

Eritrean Merhawi Kudus was second on the lumpy 175.7km stage from Benicassim to Ermita Santa Lucia, finishing 42sec behind Lutsenko with Spain's Marc Soler third at 56sec.

Lutsenko, 24, had broken clear of a large 17-man breakaway group, that had built up a seven-minute lead at one stage, on the tough final ascent to Ermita Santa Lucia.

Results from Wednesday's fifth stage of the Vuelta a Espana over 175.7km from Benicassim to Ermita Santa Lucia:

1. Alexey Lutsenko (KAZ/AST) 4hr 24min 58sec, 2. Merhawi Kudus (ERI/DDT) at 42sec, 3. Marc Soler (ESP/MOV) 56, 4. Matej Mohoric (SLO/EAU) 1:11, 5. Alexis Gougeard (FRA/ALM) 1:24, 6. Marco Haller (AUT/KAT) 1:37, 7. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/QST) 1:40, 8. Jetse Bol (NED/MZN) 2:04, 9. Matvei Mamykin (RUS/KAT) 2:18, 10. Jeremy Maison (FRA/FDJ) 2:31

Selected others

13. Alberto Contador (ESP/TRE) 4:31, 14. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) same time, 16. Esteban Chaves (COL/ORI) s.t., 17. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 4:39, 18. Adam Yates (GBR/ORI) 4:42, 20. Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) s.t., 26. Simon Yates (GBR/ORI) 4:52, 30. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/BAH) 4:57, 39. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) 5:20

Overall standings

1. Chris Froome (GBR/Sky) 18hr 07min 10sec, 2. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) at 10sec, 3. Esteban Chaves (COL/ORI) 11, 4. Nicolas Roche (IRL/BMC) 13, 5. David De la Cruz (ESP/QST) 23, 6. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/BAH) 36, 7. Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) 49, 8. Adam Yates (GBR/ORI) 50, 9. Simon Yates (GBR/ORI) 1:09, 10. Michael Woods (CAN/CAN) 1:13

Selected others

12. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) 1:37, 26. Alberto Contador (ESP/TRE) 3:10

Read more on:    vuelta a espana  |  chris froome  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.