International Cycling

Ewan wins stage 2, Sky protect overall lead

2016-02-05 09:14
Caleb Ewan (Getty Images)

Melbourne - Caleb Ewan won a tough second stage of the Herald Sun Tour in Australia on Friday, but Team Sky's Peter Kennaugh and Chris Froome did enough to stay on top in the overall standings.

Rising Australian sprinter Ewan, who won two stages of the Tour Down Under last month, completed the 144.2-kilometre stage in three hours, 29 minutes and six seconds.

The 21-year-old Orica GreenEDGE rider came in just ahead of American Tanner Putt (UHC) and Sky team-mates Kennaugh and Froome, followed by Australian Jack Bobridge (Trek-Segafredo).

"On the final climb I knew Bobridge and Kennaugh were strong," Ewan said.

"I fought for dear life and was able to stay with them. It's a real confidence boost to be able to win on terrain like this when it's tough."

British road champion and Olympic gold medallist Kennaugh, who won the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race last week, leads the overall standings on 6hr 33min 21sec, 13 seconds ahead of two-time Tour de France winner Froome.

Friday's race, which began in the grazing farmlands of South Gippsland's Yarra Junction and ended in the town of Moe, saw several riders break away early.

But they were ultimately reeled in by the peloton driven by Orica-GreenEDGE and Team Sky.

Bobridge made a move towards the end, with Kennaugh, Ewan and Australia's Jack Haig (Orica-GreenEDGE) going with him and Froome and Putt joining the group soon after.

The six fought it out to the finish line with Ewan crossing first.

"I gave it one last dig at the end but I knew it was always going to be hard to shake Caleb off," said Kennaugh.

The race has its longest stage of 146.2 kilometres on Saturday before Sunday's final stage of 121.8 kilometres which ends in Arthurs Seat in the Mornington Peninsula.

Results and standings after the second stage of the Herald Sun Tour in Australia's Victoria state on Friday:

Stage two

1. Caleb Ewan (AUS/OGE) 03hr 29min 06sec, 2. Tanner Putt (USA/UHC) same time, 3. Peter Kennaugh (ENG/SKY) at 03sec, 4. Chris Froome (ENG/SKY) at 05sec, 5. Jack Bobridge (AUS/TFS) same time.


1. Peter Kennaugh (ENG/SKY) 06hr 33min 21sec, 2. Chris Froome (ENG/SKY) at 13sec, 3. Jack Bobridge (AUS/TFS) at 31sec, 4. Jack Haig (AUS/OGE) at 48sec, 5. Dion Smith (NZL/ONE) at 52sec.

Read more on:    cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.