International Cycling

Double Dutch delight on Tour of Switzerland

2016-06-16 22:30
Wilco Kelderman (Getty Images)

Amden - Peter Weening of the Roompot team won the Tour of Switzerland sixth stage on Thursday while Dutch compatriot Wilco Kelderman snatched the yellow jersey from French rider Pierre Latour.

Weening led a late escape of 15 riders on the final climb before breaking free, mastering the tricky wet conditions as the rain fell over the 162.8km stage.

Latour, of the AG2R team, had taken the yellow jersey 24 hours earlier but Kelderman is the new leader with a 16-second advantage over another Frenchman, Warren Barguil.

Spaniard Gorka Izagirre looked poised to take the race as he cruised four minutes ahead of the peloton, but his challenge collapsed in the final climb.

Weening, among the breakaway group, maintained his advantage to finish 2min 37sec ahead of Argentine Maximiliano Richeze.

The favourites crossed the line four minutes later and Kelderman, second overall before the stage, got the better of Barguil with Slovenian Simon Spilak, the 2015 Tour of Switzerland winner, seventh.

Latour finished less than a minute behind Kelderman but had to hand over his yellow jersey, as he now sits sixth overall at 0.51.

Friday's seventh stage, the longest and most difficult in the race, covers 224.3km from Amden to Soelden in Austria with the final climb to the Rettenbach Glacier.

Tour of Switzerland sixth stage results, a 162.8km ride from Weesen to Amden on Thursday:


1. Pieter Weening (NED/ROP) 4hr 33min 47sec (average: 35.7 km/h), 2. Maximiliano Richeze (ARG/ETI) at 2:37, 3. Maciej Paterski (POL/CCC) 3:57, 4. Kristjan Koren (SLO/CAN) 4:13, 5. Wilco Kelderman (NED/LNL) 4:31, 6. Andrew Talansky (USA/CAN) 4:31, 7. Warren Barguil (FRA/GIA) 4:31, 8. Jon Izagirre (ESP/MOV) 4:35, 9. Miguel Angel Lopez (COL/AST) 4:36, 10. Simon Spilak (SLO/KAT) 4:39, 11. Joe Dombrowski (USA/CAN) 4:42, 12. Jordi Simn (ESP/VAT) 4:57, 13. Jarlinson Pantano (COL/IAM) 5:00, 14. Gorka Izagirre (ESP/MOV) 5:03, 15. Pierre-Roger Latour (FRA/ALM) 5:22, 16. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) 5:22, 17. Tiesj Benoot (BEL/LOT) 5:28, 18. Rui Costa (POR/LAM) 5:30, 19. Sergey Chernetsky (RUS/KAT) 5:32, 20. Nico Brungger (SUI/ROT) 5:44


1. Wilco Kelderman (NED/LNL) 22hr 43min 12sec, 2. Warren Barguil (FRA/GIA) at 0:16, 3. Andrew Talansky (USA/CAN) 0:19, 4. Jon Izagirre (ESP/MOV) 0:34, 5. Miguel Angel Lopez (COL/AST) 0:39, 6. Pierre-Roger Latour (FRA/ALM) 0:51, 7. Simon Spilak (SLO/KAT) 0:52, 8. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) 0:56, 9. Gorka Izagirre (ESP/MOV) 0:59, 10. Jarlinson Pantano (COL/IAM) 1:03, 11. Rui Costa (POR/LAM) 1:34, 12. Sergey Chernetsky (RUS/KAT) 2:07, 13. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 2:09, 14. Vctor De la Parte (ESP/CCC) 5:01, 15. Darwin Atapuma (COL/BMC) 5:06, 16. Pawel Cieslik (POL/VAT) 5:24, 17. Tiesj Benoot (BEL/LOT) 5:34, 18. Petr Vakoc (CZE/ETI) 5:42, 19. Felix Groschartner (AUT/CCC) 5:57, 20. Jan Polanc (SLO/LAM) 6:00

Read more on:    cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.