International Cycling

DiData's Cummings wins Tour of Britain

2016-09-11 20:07
Cycling (File)

London - Steve Cummings safely navigated the final stage of the Tour of Britain to secure overall victory in the race in London on Sunday.

Dimension Data rider Cummings, 35, was runner-up in 2008 and 2011 and became only the second Briton to win the race since its 2004 rebrand after Bradley Wiggins in 2013.

He finished in the peloton as Australia's Caleb Ewan prevailed in a sprint finish at Piccadilly Circus after a 16-lap, 100 kilometres course.

"I'm delighted. Finally I can smile and enjoy it," Cummings said, in comments published on the BBC website.

"It's been a tough week. It was so close that it wasn't done until I crossed the line.

"I'd to thank all my team-mates for keeping me out of trouble and the British public for supporting every day like they have. It's been a great week."

Australia's Rohan Dennis came second overall, 26 seconds off the pace, with Dutchman Tom Dumoulin third.

Victory continues a fine year for Cummings, who claimed stage victories in the Tirreno-Adriatico, the Tour of the Basque Country, the Criterium du Dauphine and the Tour de France.

He assumed the overall lead with an eight-place finish on stage six and preserved his advantage on the last stage despite having lost time the day before.

Dutch rider Jasper Bovenhuis won the sprint classification, Belgian Xandro Meurisse was the best climber and Dylan Groenewegen of the Netherlands won the points classification.

Team Sky won the prize for best team.

Results from the Tour of Britain after Sunday's eighth and final stage in London:


1. Caleb Ewan (AUS/Orica-BikeExchange) 2hr 09min 24sec, 2. Dylan Groenewegen (NED/Team LottoNL-Jumbo) same time, 3. Jens Debusschere (BEL/Lotto Soudal) s.t., 4. Boy Van Poppel (NED/Trek-Segafredo) s.t., 5. Elia Viviani (ITA/Sky) s.t., 6. Andre Greipel (GER/Lotto Soudal) s.t., 7. Daniel McLay (GBR/Fortuneo - Vital Concept) s.t., 8. Steele von Hoff (AUS/ONE Pro Cycling) s.t., 9. Nicola Ruffoni (ITA/Bardiani CSF) s.t., 10. Paolo Simion (ITA/Bardiani CSF) s.t.


1. Steve Cummings (GBR/Dimension Data) 29hr 21min 21sec, 2. Rohan Dennis (AUS/BMC) at 26sec, 3. Tom Dumoulin (NED/Giant-Alpecin) 38sec, 4. Tony Gallopin (FRA/Lotto Soudal) 1min 02sec, 5. Dylan van Baarle (NED/Cannondale Drapac Team) 1min 21sec, 6. Nicolas Roche (IRL/Sky) 1min 26sec, 7. Xandro Meurisse (BEL/Wanty-Groupe Gobert) 1min 48sec, 8. Ben Swift (GBR/Sky) 1min 52sec, 9. Julien Vermote (BEL/Etixx Quick-Step) 2min 12sec, 10. Jacopo Mosca (ITA/Trek-Segafredo) 2min 32sec

Read more on:    dimension data  |  tour of britain  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.