International Cycling

DiData's Boasson Hagen storms to Criterium stage win

2016-06-09 18:30
Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Dimension Data website)

Belley - Edvald Boasson Hagen stormed to victory in a thrilling bunch sprint on stage four of the Criterium du Dauphine on Thursday, after a flat but windy 176km run from Tain L'Hermitage to Belley.

The Norwegian held off French pair Julian Alaphilippe and also took the sprint points green jersey from overnight leader Nacer Bouhanni in third.

Belley-born Maxime Bouet of Etixx-Quick Step led a three-man escape from early on and eventually launched a doomed final assault from 13km out, his solo effort being reeled in on the streets of his hometown with 3km to go.

Overall race leader Alberto Contador maintained his lead but only by four seconds as Sky's Chris Froome climbed to second ahead of Richie Porte at six seconds in third.

There had been a moment of panic in the speeding peloton just over 2km from the line, when three riders were caught in a nasty high speed fall that shook up the finish.

Apart from the fall, Thursday was a day for the GC contenders to relax in the peloton ahead of three days in the mountains where the winner will place himself as favourite to win July's Tour de France.

On Friday the race continues with a 140km run to a summit finish at the Alpine ski station at Vaujany, which culminates with a 6.4km climb at a 6.5 percent gradient.

Results and standings after stage four of the Criterium du Dauphine, a 176km run from Tain-L'Hermitage to Belley on Thursday:


1. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/DDT) 4hrs 39min 26sec, 2. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/ETI) same time, 3. Nacer Bouhanni (FRA/COF) s.t., 4. Jens Debusschere (BEL/LOT) s.t., 5. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL/BMC) s.t., 6. Samuel Dumoulin (FRA/ALM) s.t., 7. Jens Keukeleire (BEL/ORI) s.t., 8. John Degenkolb (GER/GIA) s.t., 9. Sam Bennett (IRL/BOA) s.t., 10. Luka Pibernik (SLO/LAM) s.t.

Overall standings

1. Alberto Contador (ESP/TIN) 17hrs 52mins 45sec, 2. Christopher Froome (GBR/SKY) at 4sec, 3. Richie Porte (AUS/BMC) at 06sec 4. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/ETI-QS) at 09sec, 5. Daniel Martin (IRE/ETI-QS) at 12sec, 6. Jesus Herrada (ESP/Mov) at 27, 7. Adam Yates (GBR/OGE) at 31sec 8. Diego Rosa (ITA/AST) at 35sec 9. Daniel Navarro (ESP/COF) at 43sec, 10. Bauke Mollema (Ned/TS) at 48


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.