International Cycling

Conti wins Vuelta Stage 13 as peloton ambles

2016-09-02 21:45
Valerio Conti (Gallo Images)

Urdax - Italy's Valerio Conti won the longest stage of the Vuelta a Espana on Friday as the main favourites enjoyed a leisurely ride in the sun.

The 213.4km course from Bilbao to Urdax near the French border was dominated by a 12-strong breakaway, with Conti pulling clear in the final 20km to come home alone.

Colombia's Nairo Quintana retained the race leader's red jersey ahead of Tour de France winner Chris Froome, who is at 54 seconds.

Swiss Danilo Wyss won the sprint for second ahead of Russia's Sergey Lagutin, 55 seconds behind the stage winner.

But with tough mountain stages to come, including Saturday's first trip into the Pyrenees, the overall contenders essentially took the day off.

Riding at a pedestrian pace, the peloton came over the finishing line almost 34 minutes behind the winner.

Saturday's 14th stage is 196km long from Urdax to Aubisque and includes three first category climbs before the final hors category ascent to the finish.

It is highly likely to provoke some serious skirmishing amongst the overall contenders, with Quintana looking to gain time on Froome.

There is a 37km individual time-trial in a week in which Froome is expected to make significant gains on Quintana.

Results from the 13th stage of the Vuelta a Espana, a 213.4km ride from Bilbao to Urdax-Dantxarinea on Friday:

1. Valerio Conti (ITA/LAM) 5hr 29min 04sec, 2. Danilo Wyss (SUI/BMC) at 0:55, 3. Sergey Lagutin (RUS/KAT) s.t., 4. Michael Gogl (AUT/TIN) s.t., 5. Vegard Laengen (NOR/IAM) s.t., 6. Yves Lampaert (BEL/ETI) s.t., 7. Cesare Benedetti (ITA/BOA) 1:02, 8. Jelle Wallays (BEL/LOT) 1:04 9. Gatis Smukulis (LAT/AST) s.t., 10. Stephane Rossetto (FRA/COF) 1:08

Selected others

13. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 33:54, 17. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) s.t., 28. Christopher Froome (GBR/SKY) s.t., 31. Alberto Contador (ESP/TIN) s.t., 40. Simon Yates (GBR/ORI) s.t.

Overall standings

1. Nairo Quintana (COL/Movistar) 52hr 56min 29sec, 2. Christopher Froome (GBR/SKY) at 0:54, 3. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 1:05, 4. Esteban Chaves (COL/ORI) 2:34, 5. Alberto Contador (ESP/TIN) 3:08, 6. Leopold Konig (CZE/SKY) 3:09, 7. Simon Yates (GBR/ORI) 3:25, 8. Michele Scarponi (ITA/AST) 3:34, 9. David de la Cruz (ESP/ETI) 3:45, 10. Samuel Sanchez (ESP/BMC) 3:56

Read more on:    cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.