International Cycling

Cimolai wins, Quintana keeps lead

2016-03-26 20:33
Nairo Quintana (AFP)

Vilanova i la Geltru - Italy's Davide Cimolai sprinted to victory on the sixth stage of the Tour of Catalonia on Saturday as Nairo Quintana stayed in the leader's jersey after the 197km route from Sant Joan Despi.

Lampre-Merida rider Cimolai claimed the sprint after Cameron Meyer was caught and passed with the finish line in sight after the peloton led a frenetic chase to reel in the day's standout breakaway.

Colombian Quintana finished in the pack to remain seven seconds clear of Alberto Contador with defending champion Richie Porte in third at 17sec.

"The pace was pretty high yet again, but the team functioned extremely well during the stage. We were never in difficulty and we go into the final day full of desire and ambition," said Quintana.

"Attacks by my rivals will certainly come, and they will be of concern, but I also think that the stage could end in a sprint so there will be teams wanting to chase in order to give their fast men a chance of victory."

The race concludes on Sunday with a hilly 136km circuit around Barcelona's Montjuic area, the site of the 1992 Olympic Games.

Contador refused to give up on the chance of victory but regardless of the outcome, he insisted that his preparations for the Tour de France were still on course.

"It's a demanding circuit and anything can happen on Sunday. We will try our best but I think I won't be the only one. There are other riders that sit within a few seconds," said the Spaniard.

"I'm very happy with my condition and regardless of whether we win here or not, the preparation toward the Tour de France is moving ahead perfectly. I'm optimistic and very motivated about the Tour."

Results and standings after stage six of the Tour of Catalonia, a 197.2km ride from San Juan Despi to Vilanova i la Geltru on Saturday:


1. Davide Cimolai (ITA/LAM) 4hr 35min 13sec (average: 42.9 km/h), 2. Nikias Arndt (GER/GIA) at 0:00, 3. Tosh Van der Sande (BEL/LOT) 0:00, 4. Simon Gerrans (AUS/ORI) 0:00, 5. Daryl Impey (RSA/ORI) 0:00, 6. Petr Vakoc (CZE/ETI) 0:00, 7. Alexey Tsatevich (RUS/KAT) 0:00, 8. Jonas Van Genechten (BEL/IAM) 0:00, 9. Bert-Jan Lindeman (NED/LNL) 0:00, 10. Lorrenzo Manzin (FRA/FDJ) 0:00


20. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 0:00, 21. Alberto Contador (ESP/TIN) 0:00, 22. 35. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 0:00, 42. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 0:00, 43. Richie Porte (AUS/BMC) 0:00, 52. Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) 0:00.

Overall standings

1. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 23hr 07min 41sec, 2. Alberto Contador (ESP/TIN) at 0:07sec, 3. Richie Porte (AUS/BMC) 0:17, 4. Daniel Martin (IRL/ETI) 0:18, 5. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 0:27, 6. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) 0:31, 7. Ilnur Zakarin (RUS/KAT) 0:42, 8. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 0:46, 9. Hugh Carthy (GBR/CJR) 1:01, 10. Rigoberto Uran (COL/CAN) 1:16, 11. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) 1:22, 12. Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) 1:32.

Read more on:    nairo quintana  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.