International Cycling

Boasson Hagen takes lead in Oman

2016-02-17 14:52
Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Dimension Data website)

Quriyat - Norwegian all-rounder Edvald Boasson Hagen won the second stage of the Tour of Oman on Wednesday, completing the 162km ride from Omantel Head Office to Quriyat in 4 hours 12 minutes.

He finished clear of GC contenders, Italy's Vincenzo Nibali and Greg Van Avermaet of Belgium after a tight sprint following an aggressive ascent of the day's 2.8km climb.

"I managed to attack and get involved in the final sprint, so it was perfect for me," said the 28-year-old former Sky man, who also seized the overall leader's red jersey.

"My team did really well leading on the climb."

The climb saw overnight leader Bob Jungels dropped by 59 seconds while Australia's Richie Porte was also distanced and trails by over three minutes.

After a consolidated 20km acceleration by the Astana and Dimension teams which smashed the peloton, Ireland's Dan Martin of Etixx was also left trailing by 1:41.

Boasson Hagen leads overall by four seconds from Nibali and six seconds from Van Avermaet.

Thursday's third stage covers 176.5km from Al Sawadi Beach to Nasseem Park and looks set to end in a bunch sprint.

Friday's stage however looks cut out for the pure climbers such as Nibali or Frenchman Romain Bardet.

Results and standings after the second stage of the Tour of Oman on Wednesday, a 162km run from the Omantel Head Office and Quriyat:

Stage 2:

1. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/DDD) 4hrs 12min 00sec, 2. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/AST) s.t., 3. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL/BMC) s.t., 4. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA/ALM) s.t., 5. Davide Rebellin (ITA/CCC) s.t., 6. Gianluca Brambilla (ITA/ETI) s.t., 7. Jakob Fuglsang (DEN/AST) s.t., 8. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) s.t., 9. Rui Costa (POR/LAM) s.t., 10. Serge Pauwels (BEL/DDD) at 06sec.

Overall standings (after two out of six stages)

1. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/DDD) 7hrs 49min 31sec, 2. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/AST) at 04sec, 3. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL/BMC) 06sec, 4. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) 06sec, 5. Serge Pauwels (BEL/DDD) 08sec, 6. Davide Rebellin (ITA/CCC) 10sec, 7. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA/ALM) 10sec, 8. Rui Costa (POR/LAM) 10sec, 9. Jakob Fuglsang (DEN/AST) 10sec, 10. Tom Dumoulin (NED/GIA) 16sec.

Read more on:    edvald boasson hagen  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.