International Cycling

Bauhaus wins sprint as De Gendt keeps Criterium lead

2017-06-08 20:25
Cycling (File)

Macon - German youngster Phil Bauhaus won a bunch sprint ahead of stunned French duo Arnaud Demare and Bryan Coquard in the fifth stage of the Criterium du Dauphine at Macon on Thursday.

The flat stage precedes three days in the mountains where the form of Tour de France favourites Chris Froome, Alberto Contador and Richie Porte will be scrutinised on some iconic climbs.

Belgium's Thomas De Gendt of Lotto retains the overall lead ahead of Porte and Alejandro Valverde with Froome and Contador both close behind.

The 22-year-old Bauhaus got his nose ahead after a long, nervous last 2km with the peloton bunched.

"I had a good shot at a stage win on Monday, I felt good and had two teammates leading me in," he said.

It was the biggest win so far for Bauhaus who looks set to follow a long list of German sprinting stars such as Andre Greipel, Marcel Kittel and John Degenkolb.

"To be compared to them I'll have to win a lot more," said Bauhaus who lives near Greipel and often trains alongside him.

De Gendt, who has held the yellow jersey since day one, expects to lose his lead.

"It will probably be over for me but you never know," said the Belgian rider who has just a 27 second lead on Porte. 

"I think he's the best climber in the world now," said French rider Romain Bardet of Porte as the climbers now prepare to make up lost time from Wednesday's time-trial.

Defending champion Froome is just 1:04 behind the leader heading into Friday's stage which features the beyond category Mont du Chat climb, which will also be on the Tour de France, where the finish line is at the end of a treacherous descent to the bottom of the mountain.

Results and standings after the fifth stage of the Criterium du Dauphine, a 175.5km flat run to Macon on Thursday:

Stage 5

1. Phil Bauhaus (GER/SUN), 175.5km inn 4hrs 04min 32sec, 2. Arnaud Dmare (FRA/FDJ) same time, 3. Bryan Coquard (FRA/DEN) s.t., 4. Adrien Petit (FRA/DEN) s.t., 5. Nacer Bouhanni (FRA/COF) s.t., 6. Alexander Kristoff (NOR/KAT) s.t., 7. Pascal Ackermann (GER/BOR) s.t., 8. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/DDT) s.t., 9. Enrico Battaglin (ITA/LNL) s.t., 10. Oliver Naesen (BEL/ALM) s.t.


1. Thomas De Gendt (BEL/LOT) 17hrs 10min 25sec, 2. Richie Porte (AUS/BMC) at 27sec, 3. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 51, 4. Stef Clement (NED/LNL) 55, 5. Alberto Contador (ESP/TRE) 1:02, 6. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 1:04, 7. Brent Bookwalter (USA/BMC) 1:12, 8. Jesus Herrada (ESP/MOV) 1:15, 9. Sam Oomen (NED/SUN) 1:17, 10. Diego Ulissi (ITA/EAU) 1:22

Read more on:    criterium du dauphine  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.