International Cycling

Wiggins storms to ITT victory

2014-05-13 07:23
Bradley Wiggins (Getty Images)

Los Angeles - Former Tour de France champion Bradley Wiggins clocked a storming 23:18 to win the time trial second stage on Monday and take the Tour of California overall lead.

The British Team Sky rider knocked Garmin Sharp's early pace-setter Rohan Dennis of Australia into second place in the stage, 44 seconds adrift, with American Taylor Phinney third, 52 seconds back.

Wiggins, who followed up his 2012 Tour de France triumph with a gold medal at the London Olympics that year, seized the overall lead in the eight-stage race.

The race continues on Tuesday with a 174.5km stage three that will take the field from San Jose to a finishing climb to the summit of Mount Diablo.

Wiggins averaged 51.5km/h on the out-and-back course that took the riders past the front of Folsom Prison - made famous by country music singer Johnny Cash.

The 34-year-old Wiggins will take a 44-second overall advantage over Dennis into the third stage, with BMC's Phinney a further eight seconds back.

"I didn't plan to have taken as much time as that but it was a great course for me and I'd prepared well for it," Wiggins told "The real stuff starts tomorrow."

Wiggins noted that he and his Sky team-mates had trained on Mount Diablo and know what to expect.

"I'm in a good position and I'm climbing well," he said. "We're used to being in this position now as a team after the last few years so we know what to do."

Dennis had set a strong early time on Monday, despite crashing the day before.

Wiggins, however, was 19 seconds quicker at the intermediate en route to the winning time.

Omega Pharma rider Mark Cavendish of Britain had worn the leader's yellow jersey after his narrow stage one win.

He crossed the line 27th in the time trial and is 18th overall.

Results on Monday from stage two of the Tour of California, a 20.1km time trial in Folsom, California:

1. Bradley Wiggins (GBR/Sky) 23min 18sec
2. Rohan Dennis (AUS) at 44sec
3. Taylor Phinney (USA) at 52
4. Eloy Teruel (ESP) at 1:08
5. Jesse Sergent (NZL) at 1:11

Overall standings after 2 of 8 stages

1. Bradley Wiggins (GBR/Sky) 5:07:35
2. Rohan Dennis (AUS) at 44sec
3. Taylor Phinney (USA) at 52
4. Eloy Teruel (ESP) at 1:08
5. Jesse Sergent (NZL) at 1:11

Read more on:    bradley wiggins  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.