International Cycling

Impey loses out Down Under

2015-01-23 08:55
Cycling (File)

Adelaide - Australia's Steele Von Hoff timed his sprint to perfection to win the fourth stage of the UCI Tour Down Under in the South Australian town of Mount Barker on Friday.

Von Hoff, riding for the local UniSA team, over-powered his rivals to win by a clear bike length from South African Daryl Impey (Orica GreenEDGE) and Dutchman Wouter Wippert (Drapac).

Recently crowned Australian road race champion Heinrich Haussler left his run just too late, finishing fourth for his IAM team as the rest of the peloton trailed in after a mass pile-up 150 metres from the line.

BMC's Rohan Dennis kept the ochre leader's jersey, seven seconds ahead of team-mate Cadel Evans with Dutchman Tom Dumoulin a further two seconds back.

Impey, who gained a time bonus in the intermediate sprint, jumped six places in the overall standings and is now 13 seconds behind Dennis.

The 144.5km stage began in the picturesque beach resort of Glenelg on a perfect day for racing.

Jack Bobridge, who led the event after the second stage, launched an early attack and dragged fellow Australian Michael Hepburn (Orica GreenEDGE) and Great Britain champion Peter Kennaugh (Sky) with him.

They stayed away long enough for Bobridge to take the King of the Mountain points but were caught by the peloton with 65 kilometres to go.

A second group launched another break, with Kazakhstan's Ruslan Tleubayev (Astana), Russian Maxim Belkov (Katusha) and Belgium's Pieter Serry (Etixx-Quick Step) getting out to a lead of a minute.

But the peloton never let the leaders get too far ahead and they were reeled in with eight kilometres to the finish.

Spanish pair Luis Leon Sanchez and Gorka Izaguirre then tried to surprise the peloton on a small incline, but Orica GreenEDGE led the chase and brought them back to the fold, paving the way for the sprinters.

Germany's Marcel Kittel had dropped off the back of the peloton by that stage, leaving the race wide open and Von Hoff took full advantage.

He moved towards the front then swept past Impey and Wippert to take the stage win.

Von Hoff, who was cut from the world tour at the end of last year when his Garmin-Sharp team merged with Canondale, said the win would help him secure another contract.

"Jack Bobridge was looking after me all the way, saying 'be patient, be patient, I know these roads like the back of my hand'," he said.

"I just trusted him and he delivered me to the front in the final kilometre.

"The goal is to try and get up into the world tour, I'm just trying to do my best, and this helps."

Saturday's 151.5 kilometre fifth stage takes place on the infamous Willunga Hill, which the riders must ascend twice and which traditionally provides the best racing of the Tour Down Under.

Results from the 144.5km fourth stage of the UCI Tour Down Under from Glenelg to Mount Barker in South Australia on Friday:

1. Steele Von Hoff (AUS - UniSA) 3hr 24min 28sec

2. Daryl Impey (RSA - Orica GreenEDGE) same time

3. Wouter Wippert (NED - Drapac) s.t

4. Heinrich Haussler (AUS - IAM) s.t.

5. Samuel Dumoulin (FRA - AG2R La Mondiale) s.t.

6. Niccolo Bonifazio (Lampre-Merida) s.t.

7. Rudiger Selig (GER - Katusha) s.t.

8. Giannu Meersman (BEL - Etixx-Quick Step) s.t.

9. Eugenia Alafaci (ITA - Trek Factory Racing) s.t.

10. Koen De Kort (NED - Giant-Alpecin) s.t.


22. Cadel Evans (AUS - BMC) s.t.

32. Rohan Dennis (AUS - BMC) s.t.

33. Geraint Thomas (GBR - Sky) s.t.

40. Richie Porte (AUS - Sky) s.t

124. Marcel Kittel (GER - Giant-Alpecin) at 13min 23sec

General classification

1. Rohan Dennis (AUS - BMC) 13hr 41min 34sec)

2. Cadel Evans (AUS - BMC) at 7 seconds

3. Tom Dumoulin (NED - Giant Alpecin) +9

4. Daryl Impey (RSA - Orica GreenEDGE) +13

5. Richie Porte (AUS - Sky) +15

6. Michael Rogers (AUS - Tinkoff Saxo) same time

7. Jack Haig (AUS - UniSA) s.t.

8. Maxime Bouet (FRA - Etixx-Quick Step) s.t

9. Ruben Fernandez (ESP - Movistar) s.t.

10. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA - AG2R La Mondiale) s.t.


25. Jack Bobridge (AUS - UniSA) +39

43. Geraint Thomas (GBR - Sky) +1:38

125: Marcel Kittel (GER - Giant-Alpecin) +35:51

King of the Mountain

1. Jack Bobridge (AUS - UniSA) 20 pts

2. Rohan Dennis (AUS - BMC) 16 pts

2. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA - AG2R La Mondiale) 12 pts


1. Daryl Impey (RSA - Orica GreenEDGE) 39pts

2. Niccolo Bonifazio (ITA - Lampre-Merida) 29 pts

3. Cadel Evans (AUS - BMC) 25 pts

Read more on:    cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.