International Cycling

Valverde wins sprint to Olot

2015-03-24 21:00
Alejandro Valverde (AFP)

Olot - Spain's Alejandro Valverde has won a sprint finish to claim the second stage of the Tour of Catalonia on Tuesday.

Poland's Maciej Paterski maintained his overall lead in the race, following the 191.8km run from Mataro to Olot.

He had won Monday's opening stage after being part of a three-man breakaway that finished almost three minutes ahead of the peloton.

Movistar's Valverde edged out team-mate and compatriot Jose Joaquim Rojas and Switzerland's Martin Elminger of IAM in the sprint finish after more than five hours in the saddle.

Four riders got in the day's breakaway but in cold and wet weather, New Zealand's Sam Bewley, Dutchman Tom Stamsnijder, Tsgabu Grmay of Ethiopia and Spain's Luis Mas (Caja Rural) failed to hold on despite more than 170km in the lead.

Having opened a gap of more than five minutes at one point, they were swallowed up with 18km left as Paterski's CCC team took up the chase and the stage was set for a bunch sprint.

The bumpy finale was ideally suited to Valverde, who did not disappoint.

Wednesday's 156.6km stage starts and finishes in Girona.

Former Tour de France winners Chris Froome of Britain and Spain's Alberto Contador are among the riders expected to challenge Valverde for overall victory, although last year's winner Joaquim Rodriguez pulled out of the race on Sunday due to a stomach virus.

Results from the 191.8km second stage of the Tour of Catalonia from Mataro to Olot on Tuesday:

1. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/Movistar) 5hr 02min 49sec, 2. Jose Joaquin Rojas (ESP) same time, 3. Martin Elmiger (SUI) s.t., 4. Jonathan Hivert (FRA) s.t., 5. Wilco Kelderman (NED) s.t., 6. Julien Simon (FRA) s.t., 7. Eduard Prades (ESP) s.t., 8. Fabio Silvestre (POR) s.t., 9. Pavel Kochetkov (RUS) s.t., 10. Davide Malacarne (ITA) s.t.

Overall standings

1. Maciej Paterski (POL/CCC) 9hr 36:20, 2. Pierre Rolland (FRA) at 4sec, 3. Bart De Clercq (BEL) 8, 4. Alejandro Valverde (ESP) 2min 40sec, 5. Jose Joaquin Rojas (ESP) 2:44, 6. Martin Elmiger (SUI) 2:46, 7. Wout Poels (NED) 2:47, 8. Nicolas Roche (IRL) 2:48, 9. Daniel Martin (IRL) 2:49, 10. Julien Simon (FRA) 2:50


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.