International Cycling

Trofimov wins, Froome leads

2014-06-11 16:00
Yury Trofimov (Getty Images)

Gap - Russia's Yury Trofimov made a solo break to win the fourth stage of the Criterium du Dauphine on Wednesday as Britain's Chris Froome held the leader's yellow jersey.

The Katusha team rider launched his attack 18km from the line on the Col de Manse, pulling ahead of a breakaway group formed on the 21km mark.

"I can't believe it," said Trofimov. "I know this climb since the last Tour de France, I was already in the break-away group.

"I started off gently, to save my legs, and then I literally went for it. Now I want to win a stage on the Tour de France."

Swede Gustav Larsson crossed in second ahead of Dutch rider Pim Ligthart after the 167.5km run from Montelimar to Gap.

For 30-year-old Trofimov it was a second stage win in the Dauphine six years after that on Morzine.

Defending champion Froome held the lead for the fourth day.

"The breakaway wasn't really dangerous. We mainly wanted to control it and didn't take any risk in the final descent," he explained.

"The team did great work, I had three riders with me until the line."

Froome welcomed the news that Colombian team-mate Sergio Henao, sidelined by Team Sky after questions over his blood values, has been cleared to return to competition in the Tour of Switzerland starting on Saturday.

The 26-year-old climber was born at altitude in Rionegro and still lives and trains in the region.

And ten weeks of tests carried out by experts gave him the all clear.

"The Tour of Switzerland will be a very good test of his form," said the Tour de France champion Froome.

"He's only been training until now. But I know that he is very motivated."

Thursday's fifth stage covers 189.5km from Sisteron to La Mure, and includes six climbs, the final one near Laffrey, 20km from the line.

Results after stage four of the Criterium du Dauphine, over 167.5km from Montelimar to Gap on Wenesday:


1. Yury Trofimov (RUS/KAT) 3hr 59min 22sec (average: 41,986 km/h), 2. Gustav Erik Larsson (SWE/IAM) at 0:23sec, 3. Pim Ligthart (NED/LTB) 0:25, 4. Lars Petter Nordhaug (NOR/BKN) 0:28, 5. Peter Velits (SVK/BMC) 0:28, 6. Maxime Bouet (FRA/ALM) 0:28, 7. Jan Bakelants (BEL/OPQ) 0:28, 8. Damiano Caruso (ITA/CAN) 0:28, 9. Andriy Grivko (UKR/AST) 1:31, 10. Ryder Hesjedal (CAN/GRM) 1:31, 11. Christian Meier (CAN/ORI) 1:31, 12. Romain Sicard (FRA/EUC) 1:31, 13. Imanol Erviti (ESP/MOV) 1:31, 14. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) 1:31, 15. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 1:31, 16. Jens Keukeleire (BEL/ORI) 2:10, 17. Cyril Gautier (FRA/EUC) 2:10, 18. Chad Haga (USA/GIA) 2:10, 19. Sylvain Chavanel (FRA/IAM) 2:10, 20. Valerio Conti (ITA/LAM) 2:10, 21. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 2:10

23. Alberto Contador (ESP/TIN) 2:10, 30. Wilco Kelderman (NED/BKN) 2:10, 44. Richie Porte (AUS/SKY) 2:10, 48. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) 2:10, 49. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/OPQ) 2:10, 59. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/AST) 2:10, 80. Thomas Voeckler (FRA/EUC) 7:03

Retired: Gianni Meersman (BEL/OPQ), Lachlan Morton (AUS/GRM)

Did not start: Thor Hushovd (NOR/BMC), Daan Olivier (NED/GIA), Benat Intxausti (ESP/MOV)

Overall standings

1. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 14hr 09min 19sec, 2. Alberto Contador (ESP/TIN) at 0:12sec, 3. Wilco Kelderman (NED/BKN) 0:21, 4. Andrew Talansky (USA/GRM) 0:33, 5. Jrgen Van den Broeck (BEL/LTB) 0:35, 6. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/AST) 0:50, 7. Maxime Bouet (FRA/ALM) 1:01, 8. Haimar Zubeldia (ESP/TRE) 1:22, 9. Jakob Fuglsang (DEN/AST) 1:22, 10. Adam Yates (ENG/ORI) 1:31, 11. Tanel Kangert (EST/AST) 1:35, 12. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) 1:40, 13. Sbastien Reichenbach (SUI/IAM) 1:40, 14. Gustav Erik Larsson (SWE/IAM) 1:42, 15. Daniel Navarro (ESP/COF) 1:43, 16. Leopold Konig (CZE/APP) 1:44, 17. Tony Gallopin (FRA/LTB) 1:56, 18. Kenny Elissonde (FRA/FDJ) 2:01, 19. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 2:22, 20. Mikel Nieve (ESP/SKY) 2:24

23. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/OPQ) 2:37, 31. Yury Trofimov (RUS/KAT) 3:42, 33. Ryder Hesjedal (CAN/GRM) 3:50


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.