International Cycling

Tiralongo takes Stage 9

2015-05-17 18:29
Paolo Tiralong (AFP)

San Giorgio del Sannio -Italian Paolo Tiralongo has won the ninth stage of the Giro d'Italia on Sunday as his Astana team leader Fabio Aru snatched back one second on race leader Alberto Contador.

Veteran Tiralongo, 37, counter-attacked out of a breakaway group of 10 riders 14km from the end to catch long time lone leader Tom Jelte Slagter, who had escaped with 70km still to ride.

By that point the Cannondale-Garmin rider was spent and Sicilian Tiralongo left him in his wake to claim the victory at the end of 224km from Benevento to San Giorgio del Sannio.

Dutchman Steven Kruisjwijk, who had come so close to a solo victory on Saturday, took second at 21sec with Simon Geschke of Germany heading the breakaway sprint finish a further two seconds back as Slagter faded to seventh.

But behind the breakaway riders, Aru had attacked out of the main peloton and while Contador and Richie Porte matched his kick, Colombian Rigoberto Uran could not, and lost around 45sec.

Sardinian Aru, 24, had attacked the main group with 15km left on the final climb but while Uran, second in the Giro the last two years, failed to respond, both Contador and Porte were able to glide into the Astana leader's slipstream.

Aided by Aru's teammate Mikel Landa, who is fifth overall at 46sec, the four-man group put time into Uran as they came in just under a minute behind the winner.

Ahead of Monday's first rest day, Aru took 10th on the stage and cut his deficit to Contador and the pink jersey from 4sec to 3sec, while Tasmanian Porte remains third at 22sec.

But it was a successful day for the top three as Uran, who is the best timetriallist of the overall contenders, is now eighth at 2min 10sec off Contador.

Tuesday's 10th stage is a pan-flat 200km from Civitanova Marche to Forli.

Results from Sunday's 224km ninth stage of the Giro d'Italia from Benevento to Sannio:

1. Paolo Tiralongo (ITA/AST) 5hr 50min 31sec, 2. Steven Kruijswijk (NED/LNL) at 21sec, 3. Simon Geschke (GER/GIA) 23, 4. Amael Moinard (FRA/BMC) same time, 5. Jesus Herrada (ESP/MOV) s.t., 6. Carlos Betancur (COL/ALM) s.t., 7. Tom-Jelte Slagter (NED/CAN) s.t., 8. Kenny Elissonde (FRA/FDJ) s.t., 9. Ryder Hesjedal (CAN/CAN) 27, 10. Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) 56,

11. Alberto Contador (ESP/TIN) 57, 12. Richie Porte (AUS/SKY) s.t., 13. Mikel Landa (ESP/AST) 1:01, 14. Giovanni Visconti (ITA/MOV) 1:43, 15. Jan Polanc (SLO/LAM) s.t., 16. Michael Matthews (AUS/ORI) s.t., 17. Andrey Amador (CRC/MOV) s.t., 18. Fabio Felline (ITA/TRE) s.t., 19. Stefano Pirazzi (ITA/BAR) s.t., 20. Damiano Caruso (ITA/BMC) s.t.

Selected others

28. Rigoberto Uran (COL/ETI) s.t.

Overall standings

1. Alberto Contador (ESP/TIN) 38hr 31min 35sec, 2. Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) 3, 3. Richie Porte (AUS/SKY) 0:22, 4. Mikel Landa (ESP/AST) 0:46, 5. Dario Cataldo (ITA/AST) 1:16, 6. Roman Kreuziger (CZE/TIN) 1:46, 7. Giovanni Visconti (ITA/MOV) 2:02, 8. Rigoberto Uran (COL/ETI) 2:10, 9. Damiano Caruso (ITA/BMC) 2:20, 10. Andrey Amador (CRC/MOV) 2:24,

11. Leopold Konig (CZE/SKY) 2:30, 12. Darwin Atapuma (COL/BMC) 2:55, 13. Davide Formolo (ITA/CAN) 3:01, 14. Damiano Cunego (ITA/NIP) 3:10, 15. Yury Trofimov (RUS/KAT) 3:18, 16. Jurgen Van den Broeck (BEL/LOT) 3:33, 17. Maxime Monfort (BEL/LOT) 4:00, 18. Amael Moinard (FRA/BMC) 4:09, 19. Alexandre Geniez (FRA/FDJ) 4:41, 20. Jon Izagirre (ESP/MOV) 5:47

Read more on:    giro d'italia  |  alberto contador  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.