International Cycling

Impey edged Down Under

2015-01-21 10:16
Cycling (File)

Adelaide - Spain's Juan Jose Lobato Del Valle swooped in the last 50 metres to win the second stage of the Tour Down Under in the South Australian town of Stirling on Wednesday.

Lobato Del Valle came from 10th place in the closing stages to fly past South African Daryl Impey (Orica GreenEdge) at the end of the long uphill finish and win in 3hr 42min 24sec.

His Movistar team-mate Gorka Izaguirre Insausti was third, just ahead of Dutchman Tom Dumoulin (Giant-Alpecin).

"It was a very difficult finish for me but I managed to come through towards the end, and it's a good win for the team," Lobato Dell Valle said.

"We always come to this race with a great team, we like to ride well here and it's important for us to do well in the Tour Down Under."

Australia's Jack Bobridge rode in with the peloton to maintain his hold on the ochre leader's jersey after a day's racing in perfect conditions on the testing course around the Adelaide Hills.

From the inner-city Adelaide start the race stayed together until Cameron Meyer (Orica GreenEDGE) and Thomas De Gendt (Lotto Soudal) broke clear after 18 kilometres.

They were soon joined by Campbell Flakemore (BMC), with the trio opening a lead of almost four minutes by the 62km mark.

But unlike Tuesday when the peloton mistimed the chase and let the breakaway stay clear until the finish, this time the main teams were taking no chances.

The chase was organised by IAM and Team Sky and steadily reeled in the leaders, catching them at the end of the second of two 20km laps around the countryside surrounding Stirling.

Calvin Watson (Trek Factory Racing) and Danilo Wyss (BMC) broke clear at the start of the last lap and stayed away for 10 kilometres, but they were caught at the bottom of the long uphill finishing stretch into Stirling.

IAM tried to set the race up for sprinter Heinrich Hessler, but most of the running was taken up by Garmin-Cannondale for Nathan Haas.

With an average speed of 43.5km/h over the last climb into Stirling, the peloton was soon broken apart, but main general classification contenders Cadel Evans and Richie Porte managed to hang on.

Haas launched his bid for glory 400 metres out, but he was caught by Impey, who looked certain to take the win until Lobato Del Valle's late surge.

Bobridge, 25, who now leads the Spaniard by three seconds overall, will attempt to break the world one-hour record next week, but conceded that was now under a cloud.

"I came here to look after the young guys (on the UniSA team) for general classification, so this has thrown a spanner in the works," he said.

"Now I'm in the (ochre) jersey I have to defend it as much as possible and worry about the one-hour record next week."

Thursday's 143.2km third stage starts at Norwood and features a mountain top finish at Paracombe.

Results after the 150.5-kilometre second stage of the Tour Down Under from Unley to Stirling on Wednesday:

1. Juan Jose Lobato Del Valle (ESP - Movistar) 3hr 42min 24sec

2. Daryl Impey (RSA - Orica GreenEDGE) same time

3. Gorka Izaguirre Insausti (ESP - Movistar) s.t

4. Tom Dumoulin (NED - Giant - Alpecin) s.t.

5. Cadel Evans (AUS - BMC) s.t.

6. Luis Leon Sanchez Gil (ESP - Astana) s.t

7. Richie Porte (AUS - Sky) s.t

8. Niccolo Bonifazio (ITA - Lampre-Merida) s.t.

9. Nathan Haas (AUS - Cannondale-Garmin) s.t.

10. Samuel Dumoulin (FRA - AG2R La Mondial) s.t.


15. Geraint Thomas (GBR - Sky) s.t.

20. Jack Bobridge (AUS - UniSa) s.t.

129. Marcel Kittell (GER - Giant-Alpecin) at 13min 43sec

General Classification

1. Jack Bobridge (AUS - UniSa) 6hr 41min 55sec

2. Juan Jose Lobato Del Valle (ESP - Movistar) at 3 seconds

3. Lieuwe Westra (NED - Astana) +4

4. Daryl Impey (RSA - Orica GreenEDGE) +7

5. Gorka Izaguirre Insausti (ESP - Movistar) +9

6. Niccolo Bonifazio (ITA - Lampre-Merida) +13

7. Gianni Meersman (BEL - Etixx-Quick Step) s.t.

8. Samuel Dumoulin (FRA - AG2R La Mondial) s.t.

9.Nathan Haas (AUS - Cannondale-Garmin) s.t

10. Cadel Evans (AUS - BMC) s.t.


12. Juan Jose Lobato Del Valle (ESP - Movistar) s.t.

14. Richie Porte (AUS - Sky) s.t

16. Geraint Thomas (GBR - Sky) s.t

118. Marcel Kittell (GER - Giant-Alpecin) 13min 56sec

King of the Mountains

1. Thomas De Gendt (BEL - Lotto Soudal) 10 points

2. Campbell Flakemore (AUS - BMC) 6 pts

3. Cameron Meyer (AUS - Orica GreenEDGE) 4pts


1. Juan Jose Lobato Del Valle (ESP - Movistar) 24 points

2. Jack Bobridge (AUS - UniSa) 20 pts

3. Daryl Impey (RSA - Orica GreenEDGE) 20 pts

Read more on:    cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.