International Cycling

Costa stuns rival Rodriguez

2013-09-29 18:20
Alberto Rui Costa (Getty Images)

Florence - Alberto Rui Costa stunned Spanish rival Joaquin Rodriguez at the finish line of the world championships' road race to become the first Portuguese winner of the coveted rainbow jersey on Sunday.

Rodriguez finished second to take the silver with compatriot Alejandro Valverde taking bronze at the end of rain-hit 272.2km epic that claimed several pre-race favourites as well as the entire British team.

Italy's Vincenzo Nibali had to settle for fourth after being left with no teammates for the thrilling finale in the final stages of the 10th and last lap of a hilly 16.9km circuit around Florence.

Rui Costa, who won two stages at July's Tour de France as well as the Tour of Switzerland, succeeds Philippe Gilbert of Belgium as world champion.

Gilbert's Belgian team looked among the strongest amid a reduced, 42-man field on the final lap.

However the defending champion, as well as pre-race favourite Fabian Cancellara of Switzerland, were among those unable to respond when Rodriguez countered an attack by Nibali late on the second of the circuit's three climbs.

Gilbert eventually crossed the finish line in ninth place at 34secs behind Rui Costa's winning time of 7hr 25min 44sec, with Cancellara on his wheel.

Results from the final day of the world road race championships on Sunday:

Elite men

Road race (272.2 km)

1. Rui Costa (POR) 7hr 25min 44sec, 2. Joaquin Rodriguez (ESP) same time, 3. Alejandro Valverde (ESP) at 16sec, 4. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA) s.t., 5. Andriy Grivko (UKR) 31, 6. Peter Sagan (SVK) 34, 7. Simon Clarke (AUS) s.t., 8. Maxim Iglinskiy (KAZ) s.t., 9. Philippe Gilbert (BEL) s.t., 10. Fabian Cancellara (SUI) s.t.

11. Bauke Mollema (NED) s.t., 12. Lars Petter Nordhaug (NOR) s.t., 13. Daniel Moreno (ESP) s.t., 14. Simon Geschke (GER) s.t., 15. Sergio Henao (COL) s.t., 16. Michele Scarponi (ITA) s.t., 17. Filippo Pozzato (ITA) 1min 05sec, 18. Arthur Vichot (FRA) s.t., 19. Maciej Paterski (POL) s.t., 20. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR) s.t.

Note: 208 riders started, 61 finished.

Read more on:    cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.