International Cycling

Rojas leads Tour of Qatar

2015-02-08 19:45
Jose Joaquin Rojas (Getty Images)

Doha - Spanish rider Jose Joaquin Rojas won the first stage of the Tour of Qatar, a 136 kilometres ride from Dukhan to Sealine Beach on Sunday.

The 29-year-old Movistar rider -- Spanish road race champion in 2011 -- edged out Belgian veteran Tom Boonen and Arnaud Demare of France in a sprint finish.

Rojas is unlikely to be able to hold onto the jersey all the way to Friday's finish but he said he would try.

"We have to try. The important thing for now is not to relax," he said.

"We will give our all and if we manage to maintain or even improve this result with another victory, it will be welcome."

The pace picked up in the final 10km and some riders, including world timetrial champion Bradley Wiggins and sprint king Marcel Kittel, failed to keep up.

Astana pair Lars Boom and Lieuwe Westra, along with Tinkoff-Saxo's Matti Brechel, went for broke from 25km out but crosswinds in the final 14km scuppered their chances of holding on to the finish.

"It was a long day, if we didn't attack, we would have finished in the dark," said Boom.

With time bonuses given to the top finishers, Rojas leads Boonen by four seconds in the overall standings while Demare is a further two seconds adrift.

Monday's second stage is the 194.5km ride from Al Wakra to the Al Khor Corniche.

Results in the first stage of the Tour of Qatar, a 136km ride from Dukhan to Sealine Beach, on Sunday:


1. Jose Joaquin Rojas (ESP) Movistar 3hr 49min 50sec, 2. Tom Boonen (BEL) Etixx-Quick Step same time, 3. Arnaud Demare (FRA) FDJ s.t., 4. Peter Sagan (SVK) Tinkoff-Saxo s.t., 5. Sam Bennett (IRL) Bora-Argon 18 s.t., 6. Jasper Stuyven (BEL) Trek s.t. 7. Heinrich Haussler (AUS) IAM s.t., 8. Andrea Guardini (ITA) Astana s.t., 9. Alexander Kristoff (NOR) Katusha s.t., 10. Nacer Bouhanni (FRA) Cofidis s.t.

Overall standings

1. Jose Joaquin Rojas (ESP) Movistar 3hr 49min 50sec, 2. Tom Boonen (BEL) Etixx-Quick Step 4sec, 3. Arnaud Demare (FRA) FDJ 6, 4. Nikias Arndt (GER) Giant-Alpecin 8, 5. Niki Terpstra (NED) Etixx-Quick Step 9, 6. Roberto Ferrari (ITA) Lampre-Merida 10, 7. Peter Sagan (SVK) Tinkoff-Saxo s.t., 8. Sam Bennett (IRL) Bora-Argon 18 s.t., 9. Jasper Stuyven (BEL) Trek s.t. 10. Heinrich Haussler (AUS) IAM s.t.

Read more on:    tour of qatar  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.