International Cycling

Rodriguez wins Tour of Basque Country

2015-04-11 19:43
Joaquim Rodriguez (AP)

Aia - Spain's Joaquim Rodriguez claimed overall victory at the Tour of the Basque Country thanks to the second fastest time in Saturday's race-against-the-clock.

The Katusha rider, who won stages three and four, came into the final day time-trial level with Sergio Henao but outpaced the Colombian by 13 seconds on the hilly 18.3km stretch through Aia.

"Not in my wildest dreams did I think I would win," said Rodriguez, who was only taking part having missed the Tour of Catalonia two weeks ago due to a stomach virus.

"The other guys made it very difficult. This is a race I have great feelings for because I rode a lot as an amateur cyclist in the Basque Country."

Dutchman Tom Dumoulin won the stage in 28min 46sec with Rodriguez four seconds back and Spaniard Ion Izagirre a further second behind.

Henao was fourth on the day to secure second place in the general classification.

"We knew it would be difficult, Rodriguez was stronger and he won," said the Sky rider.

"I am very happy, in 2013 I was third, this time second, so I hope that one year I will win."

Izagirre's time was also enough to move him above pre-race favourite Nairo Quintana into third overall.

The Giro d'Italia winner was back in fourth and Quintana said hay fever had obstructed his bid to finish on the podium.

"This tour hasn't been very good for me, I tried with all I had but sometimes when you aren't at your best, you can't do any more.

"It is not an excuse, but a pollen allergy was giving me a lot of problems."

Results from the sixth and final stage of the Tour of the Basque Country, a 18.3km time trial through Aia on Saturday:

1. Tom Dumulin (NED/TGA) 28min 46 sec, 2. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) at 4sec, 3. Ion Izagirre (ESP/MOV) 5, 4. Sergio Henao (COL/SKY) 17, 5. Benat Intxausti (ESP/MOV) 21, 6. Fabio Felline (ITA/TFR) 23, 7. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 30, 8. Rui Costa (POR/LAM) 34, 9. Rein Taarame (EST/AST) 36, 10. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/EQS) 37


1. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) 21hr 49min 38sec, 2. Sergio Henao (COL/SKY) at 13sec, 3. Ion Izagirre (ESP/MOV) 29, 4. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 38, 5. Simon Yates (GBR/OGE) 46, 6. Michele Scarponi (ITA/AST) 1:06, 7. Rui Costa (POR/LAM) 1:14, 8. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/EQS) 1:15, 9. Ilnur Zakarin (RUS/KAT) 1:25, 10. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) 1:33


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.