International Cycling

Quintana wins Tirreno-Adriatico

2015-03-17 18:04
Nairo Quintana (AFP)

Benedetto del Tronto - Colombia's Nairo Quintana has won the Tirreno-Adriatico after Fabian Cancellera claimed the seventh and final stage time-trial in San Benedetto del Tronto on Tuesday.

Quintana, last year's Giro d'Italia champion, had taken possession of the overall leader's blue jersey in Sunday's mountaintop victory in the snow.

And the Movistar rider held on to his lead after the closing stage's 10 kilometre race-against-the-clock to finish 18sec clear of Dutch rival Bauke Mollema in the standings.

The success of Quintana, runner-up in the 2013 Tour de France, augurs well for the rest of the season after the second half of last year was disrupted by an injury suffered in the Tour of Spain.

For Swiss former world and Olympic time-trial specialist Cancellera, this 50th stage win of his career set him up for his latest assault on Sunday's Milan-SanRemo. He is hoping to go one better after finishing second on three of the last four editions of the one-day classic.

Cancellera came in 4sec clear of Adriano Malori, who had relegated the Swiss classics specialist into second in the opening 5.4km time trial prologue last Wednesday. Quintana finished in 55th on Tuesday, 55sec behind the stage winner.

Two-time Tour de France winner Alberto Contador, in fifth overall, and Italy's reigning Tour de France champion Vincenzo Nibali (16th) are still some way off top form.

Results of the Tirreno-Adriatico seventh and final stage, a 10 kilometre time-trial in San Benedetto del Tronto on Tuesday:


1. Fabian Cancellara (SUI/TRE) 11min 23sec, 2. Adriano Malori (ITA/MOV) at 0:04sec, 3. Vasil Kiryienka (BLR/SKY) 0:09, 4. Jonathan Castroviejo (ESP/MOV) 0:12, 5. Maciej Bodnar (POL/TIN) 0:16, 6. Michael Hepburn (AUS/ORI) 0:16, 7. Ramunas Navardauskas (LTU/CAN) 0:17, 8. Stephen Cummings (GBR/MTN) 0:23, 9. Audrey Amador (CRC/MOV) 0:25, 10. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/MTN) 0:26


16. Alberto Contador (ESP/TIN) 0:31, 17. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/AST) 0:32, 55. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 0:55


1. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 25hr 11min 16sec, 2. Bauke Mollema (NED/TRE) at 0:18, 3. Rigoberto Uran (COL/ETI) 0:31, 4. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) 0:35, 5. Alberto Contador (ESP/TIN) 0:39, 6. Stephen Cummings (GBR/MTN) 0:40, 7. Wout Poels (NED/SKY) 0:56, 8. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA/ALM) 0:59, 9. Adam Yates (ENG/ORI) 1:09, 10. Roman Kreuziger (CZE/TIN) 1:11


16. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/AST) 2:00,,40. Ivan Basso (ITA/TIN) 18:13, 50. Peter Sagan (SVK/TIN) 22:45, 52. Fabian Cancellara (SWI/TRE) 23:22.


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.