International Cycling

Paterski wins Catalonia Stage 1

2015-03-23 19:09
Maciej Paterski (AFP)

Calella - Poland's Maciej Paterski has won the first stage of the Tour of Catalonia on Monday as a three-man breakaway left the peloton nearly three minutes behind.

Paterski edged out France's Pierre Rolland and Belgian Bart de Clerq to claim the 185.2 kilometre stage around Calella in a time of 4hr 33min 31sec.

Former Tour de France winners Chris Froome and Alberto Contador were among the chasing pack that finished 2min 40sec behind the leaders, however Froome squeezed out a bonus one second advantage over Contador in an intermediate sprint.

Paterski's feat is all the more impressive as the CCC-Sprandi-Polkowice rider finished 22nd in the marathon 293km Milan-San Remo classic just 24 hours previously.

The trio didn't manage to form a breakaway until 60km into the stage, but with no one in the peloton willing to take on the brunt of the workload, they quickly built up an unassailable advantage of over 13 minutes.

Froome's Team Sky then began to push the pace in the chasing pack and managed to at least minimise the damage which could give Rolland in particular, who finished fourth in last year's Giro d'Italia, a shot at winning the general classification come Sunday's final stage in Barcelona.

Up front it was De Clerq who made the first break for the line, but he was quickly caught and Paterski had just too much for Rolland in the final sprint.

The race continues on Tuesday's 191.8km second stage from Mataro to Olot.

Results from the first stage of the Tour of Catalonia, a 185.2 kilometre ride around Calella on Monday:


1. Maciej Paterski (POL/CCC) 4hr 33min 41sec, 2. Pierre Rolland (FRA/EUC) same time, 3. Bert de Clerq (BEL/LTS) 02sec, 4. Tosh van der Sande (BEL/LTS) 2min 40sec, 5. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/EQS) s.t., 6. Paolo Tiralongo (ITA/AST) s.t., 7. Enrico Gasparotto (ITA/WGG) s.t., 8. Bryan Coquard (FRA/EUC) s.t., 9. Carlos Barbero (ESP/CJR) s.t., 10. Juien Simon (FRA/COF) s.t.


11. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) s.t.

General classification (with bonuses included):

1. Maciej Paterski (POL/CCC) 4hr 33min 31sec, 2. Pierre Rolland (FRA/EUC) at 04sec, 3. Bert de Clerq (BEL/LTS) 08sec, 4. Wouter Poels (NED/SKY) 2min 47sec, 5. Nicolas Roche (IRL/SKY) 2:48, 6. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 2:49, 7. Tosh van der Sande (BEL/LTS) 2min 50sec, 8. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/EQS) s.t., 9. Paolo Tiralongo (ITA/AST) s.t., 10. Enrico Gasparotto (ITA/WGG)

Read more on:    tour of catalonia  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.