International Cycling

Movistar win Vuelta time trial

2014-08-23 21:22
Nairo Quintana (AP)

Jerez de la Frontera - Giro d'Italia champion Nairo Quintana got his quest to win the Tour of Spain off to a flying start as his Movistar team won the opening stage team time trial on Saturday.

Spaniard Jonathan Castroviejo led his team to victory in a time of 14min 13sec to take the leader's jersey, six seconds ahead of Cannondale and Orica Green-Edge.

However, it was a poor start for 2013 Tour de France champion Chris Froome as he lost 27 seconds on Quintana as Team Sky finished back in 11th.

"We have been preparing all season for a team time trial like this one," said Castroviejo.

However, Castroviejo refused to be drawn on who between Quintana and 2009 Tour of Spain champion Alejandro Valverde would be the team leader throughout the three-week tour.

"Until we get to the mountains we don't know who we will be supporting," said the 27-year-old.

Froome was making his return to action after crashing out of this year's Tour de France with hand and wrist injuries.

He was one of many riders to crash on the 12.6km route through Jerez de la Frontera in training and seemed content just to make it to the finish line without any further incidents.

There were no such problems for Quintana and Valverde as Movistar set off last and were always ahead of the rest of the pack before Castroviejo led them across the line.

Another former winner Alberto Contador finished 19 seconds off the leaders as the Spaniard's Tinkoff-Saxo team were down in seventh.

Contador is also on the comeback trail after a nasty shinbone injury at the Tour de France and insisted he is not in the running for the overall victory despite finishing eight seconds ahead of Froome.

"This doesn't change anything. I have told you I am going day-by-day," said the two-time Tour de France winner.

"The most important thing was to test my legs."

Results of the Tour of Spain first stage, a 12.6km team time trial around Jerez de la Frontera on Saturday:

1. Movistar 14min 13sec

2. Cannondale at 0:06.

3. Orica-GreenEdge 0:06.

4. RadioShack 0:09.

5. Omega Pharma 0:11.

6. Giant 0:16.

7. Tinkoff 0:19.

8. Belkin 0:19.

9. BMC 0:21.

10. Lampre 0:25.

11. Sky 0:27.

12. Team MTN 0:29.

13. Astana 0:30.

14. Lotto 0:30.

15. AG2R La Mondiale 0:33.

16. Katusha 0:38.

17. IAM Cycling 0:40.

18. Garmin 0:41.

19. 0:45.

20. Caja Rural 0:48.

21. Cofidis 0:51.

22. Europcar 1:03.

Read more on:    tour of spain  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.