International Cycling

Mollema wins Vuelta Stage 17

2013-09-11 19:30
Bauke Mollema (AFP)
Madrid - Dutch rider Bauke Mollema of the Belkin team won the 17th stage of the Tour of Spain in Burgos on Thursday as Italy's Vincenzo Nibali retained the overall race leader's red jersey.

Mollema, 26, attacked at the end of the 189-km ride from Calahorra to take the stage win ahead of Sky's Norwegian rider Edvald Boasson Hagen and Argentina's Maximiliano Richeze, of Lampre, who were second and third respectively.

The Dutchman's move completely took by surprise the peloton, containing the leading riders in the general classification, to recover some pride from a race in which he had been left trailing in the overall standings.

"I knew that this was my only chance to win a stage," Mollema told Spanish television at the end of a stage that had been earmarked as one for the sprinters.

"I came to the Vuelta with ambitions to do well in the general classification, my team had designated me for that role, but it hasn't been possible and so we decided to go for stage wins instead," added Mollema, who became something of a cult hero in his native Netherlands on his way to finishing sixth at this year's Tour de France.

Nibali and his principle rivals - the American veteran Chris Horner of RadioShack and Spanish duo Alejandro Valverde of Movistar and Joaquim Rodriguez of Katusha - reached the finish just behind Mollema and were given the same time as the stage winner.

However, several riders lost time after cracks appeared in the peloton when Ireland's Nicolas Roche and his Saxo-Tinkoff team attacked in crosswinds with just under 30 kilometres to go.

France's Thibaut Pinot and Italy's Domenico Pozzovivo were among the riders worst affected, with both losing 1min 31sec on Nibali.

"It was a stage in which we needed to be wary from beginning to end. On paper it looked easy, but we saw what happened to two riders with high hopes in Pozzovivo and Pinot," commented Valverde at the finish.

While Pozzovivo and Pinot sit more than five and six minutes behind Nibali respectively, Roche climbs back into the top five in the overall standings, 3min 43sec behind the overall leader.

Horner sits second at 28sec, with Valverde third at 1min 14sec and Rodriguez fourth at 2min 29sec.

This year's Vuelta concludes in Madrid on Sunday but, before that, the peloton must prepare for a first-category finish on Thursday on the Pena Cabarga, where 'Purito' Rodriguez won in 2010.

And on Saturday there will be a finish atop the unclassified Alto de l'Angliru, at an altitude of 1,557 metres.

"I like this climb," said Nibali, winner of this year's Giro d'Italia and the 2010 Vuelta, of the Pena Cabarga.

"I know it well from 2010 and 2011. In 2010, I remember that Puriot was very good. We will see. It is a great finish."

Leading results from the 17th stage of the Tour of Spain, a 189km ride from Calahorra to Burgos on Wednesday:
1. Bauke Mollema (NED/BKN) 4h44min 28sec
2. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/SKY) at 0:00.
3. Maximiliano Richeze (ARG/LAM) 0:00.
4. Tyler Farrar (USA/GRM) 0:00.
5. Fabian Cancellara (SWI/RSH) 0:00.
6. Grega Bole (SLO/VAC) 0:00.
7. Luca Paolini (ITA/KAT) 0:00.
8. Paul Voss (GER/APP) 0:00.
9. Jose Herrada (ESP/MOV) 0:00.
10. Nicolas Roche (IRL/SAX) 0:00.
11. Vladimir Gusev (RUS/KAT) 0:00.
12. David Tanner (AUS/BKN) 0:00.
13. Pablo Urtasun (ESP/EUS) 0:00.
14. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/AST) 0:00.
15. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 0:00.
16. Egoi Martinez (ESP/EUS) 0:00.
17. Chris Horner (USA/RSH) 0:00.
18. Paolo Tiralongo (ITA/AST) 0:00.
19. Leopold Koenig (CZE/APP) 0:00.
20. Samuel Sanchez (ESP/EUS) 0:00.

Overall standings:
1. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/AST) 68h50min 29sec
2. Chris Horner (USA/RSH) at 0:28.
3. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 1:14.
4. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) 2:29.
5. Nicolas Roche (IRL/SAX) 3:43.
6. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA/ALM) 5:09.
7. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) 6:08.
8. Leopold Koenig (CZE/APP) 6:17.
9. Samuel Sanchez (ESP/EUS) 7:33.
10. Tanel Kangert (EST/AST) 10:52.
11. Daniel Moreno (ESP/KAT) 11:02.
12. David Arroyo (ESP/CJR) 11:22.
13. Jose Herrada (ESP/MOV) 11:42.
14. Michele Scarponi (ITA/LAM) 12:08.
15. Igor Anton (ESP/EUS) 16:15.
16. Dominik Nerz (GER/BMC) 17:04.
17. Robert Kiserlovski (CRO/RSH) 18:13.
18. Eros Capecchi (ITA/MOV) 20:47.
19. Andre Cardoso (POR/CJR) 21:29.
20. Chris Anker Sorensen (DEN/SAX) 22:22.

Read more on:    vuelta a espana  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.