International Cycling

Majka takes Poland victory

2014-08-09 19:39
Rafal Majka (Gallo Images)

Krakow - Young Polish star Rafal Majka wrapped up overall victory at the Tour of Poland following Saturday's 25km time trial around Krakow, won by Belgian Kristof Vandewalle.

The 24-year-old Majka took an 18 second lead over Benat Intxausti and 22 seconds ahead of Jon Izaguirre, both Spaniards riding for Movistar, into the seventh and final stage.

Although Izaguirre finished 14 seconds ahead of Majka, the Pole did enough to hold on, finishing 13th in the time trial at 43 seconds off the winner.

Izaguirre finished second overall at 8 seconds while Intxausti dropped to third at 22 seconds.

Majka continued his fine form this year having finished sixth overall at May's Giro d'Italia and won two mountain stages at last month's Tour de France.

Last year's winner Pieter Weening had a disappointing race, ending 37th overall at 10:52.


1. Kristof Vandewalle (Belgium / Trek) 29:18"
2. Adriano Malori (Italy / Movistar) +3"
3. Steven Cummings (Britain / BMC Racing) +10"
4. Steve Morabito (Switzerland / BMC Racing) +20"
5. Gorka Izagirre (Spain / Movistar) +22"
6. Dario Cataldo (Italy / Team Sky) +28"
7. Jon Izagirre (Spain / Movistar) +29"
8. Bob Jungels (Luxembourg / Trek) +34"
9. Michael Matthews (Australia / Orica) +38"
10. Christophe Riblon (France / AG2R)
11. Mateusz Taciak (Poland / CCC) +39"
12. Rafal Majka (Poland / Tinkoff - Saxo) +43"
13. Benat Intxausti (Spain / Movistar) +47"
14. Artem Ovechkin (Russia / RusVelo) +46"
15. Nikias Arndt (Germany / Giant) +48"
16. Anton Vorobev (Russia / Katusha) +52"
17. Thomas De Gendt (Belgium / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) +53"
18. Cameron Meyer (Australia / Orica) +54"
19. Timofey Kritskiy (Russia / RusVelo) +55"
20. Andrey Amador (Costa Rica / Movistar) +56"


1. Rafal Majka (Poland / Tinkoff - Saxo) 30:16:18"
2. Jon Izagirre (Spain / Movistar) +8"
3. Benat Intxausti (Spain / Movistar) +22"
4. Christophe Riblon (France / AG2R) +34"
5. Przemyslaw Niemiec (Poland / Lampre) +1:20"
6. Andrey Amador (Costa Rica / Movistar) +1:21"
7. Philip Deignan (Ireland / Team Sky) +1:24"
8. Robert Gesink (Netherlands / Belkin) +1:41"
9. Dominik Nerz (Germany / BMC Racing) +1:42"
10. Petr Vakoc (Czech Republic / OPQ) +1:49"

Read more on:    cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.