International Cycling

Kristoff wins Paris-Nice Stage 1

2015-03-09 19:45
Alexander Kristoff (AFP)

Contres - Norway's Alexander Kristoff has won a sprint finish to the first stage of Paris-Nice at Contres on Monday, but the overall lead stayed with Polish world champion Michal Kwiatkowski.

Kristoff held off French duo Nacer Bouhanni and Bryan Coquard at the climax to a 196.5 kilometres stage from Maurepas to the west of Paris.

The day was marked by a breakaway by two other Frenchmen - Thomas Voeckler and Anthony Delaplace - after 40 kilometres.

At one stage they were six minutes clear, but gradually the peloton whittled this away and they were eventually reeled in with 1.5 kilometres to go.

Tuesday's action also involves a flat terrain leading from the ZooParc at Beauval to Saint-Amand-Montrond in central France, a stage of 172 kilometres.

Result of the first stage in the Paris-Nice race on Monday, the from Saint-Remy-les-Chevreuse to Contres:

1. Alexander Kristoff (NOR/KAT) 5hr 15min 18sec
2. Nacer Bouhanni (FRA/COF) same time
3. Bryan Coquard (FRA/EUC)
4. Heinrich Haussler (AUS/IAM)
5. Giacomo Nizzolo (ITA/TRE)
6. Jos Joaquin Rojas (ESP/MOV)
7. Moreno Hofland (NED/LNL)
8. Niccolo Bonifazio (ITA/LAM)
9. Ben Swift (GBR/SKY)
10. Michael Matthews (AUS/ORI)
11. Borut Bozic (SLO/AST)
12. Silvan Dillier (SUI/BMC)
13. Arnaud Dmare (FRA/FDJ)
14. Jonas Van Genechten (BEL/IAM)
15. John Degenkolb (GER/GIA)
17. Michael Morkov (DEN/TIN)
18. Matti Breschel (DEN/TIN)
19. Andre Greipel (GER/LOT)
20. Yauheni Hutarovich (BLR/BSE)
21. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/ETI) all same time

Overall standings

1. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/ETI) 5hr 22min 58sec, 2. Rohan Dennis (AUS/BMC) same time, 3. Tony Martin (GER/ETI) at 7sec, 4. John Degenkolb (GER/GIA) 9sec, 5. Luis Leon Sanchez (ESP/AST) 10sec, 6. Lars Boom (NED/AST) 10, 7. Michael Matthews (AUS/ORI) 10, 8. Sylvain Chavanel (FRA/IAM) 10, 9. Tom Dumoulin (NED/GIA) 13, 10. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) 13, 11. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 14, 12. Bradley Wiggins (GBR/SKY) 15, 13. Richie Porte (AUS/SKY) 15, 14. Wilco Kelderman (NED/LNL) 16, 15. Jack Bauer (NZL/CAN) 16, 16. Alexander Kristoff (NOR/KAT) 16, 17. Ruben Plaza (ESP/LAM) 16, 18. Sebastian Langeveld (NED/CAN) 17, 19. Philippe Gilbert (BEL/BMC) 17, 20. Gorka Izagirre (ESP/MOV) 18


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.