International Cycling

Kittel reigns in Belfast

2014-05-10 19:34
Marcel Kittel (AFP)

Belfast - Marcel Kittel of Germany has won a wet second stage of the Giro d'Italia in Belfast on Saturday, finishing over a length clear of France's Nacer Bouhanni in a mass sprint.

But it was the rider who finished eighth, Michael Matthews of Australia, who took over the race leader's pink jersey from his team-mate, Svein Tuft of Canada.

The pair's squad, Orica-GreenEdge, won Friday evening's team time-trial, meaning that all Matthews had to do to claim the jersey was finish ahead of Tuft the next day.

It was an outcome predicted by the team's director, Matt White, at the stage start in the Northern Irish capital on Saturday morning.

"Michael should have the jersey tonight," said White. "He's our sprinter, he's going well, and that was our plan -- to have Svein in pink after the team time-trial, with Michael taking over."

It meant that the jersey went from one of the oldest riders in the race, 37-year-old Tuft, to one of the youngest. Matthews, known as 'Bling', is 23.

The 219-kilometre stage took the riders north from Belfast through Ballymena and all the way up to the Bushmills whiskey distillery before looping back around the coast, passing the Giant's Causeway, and into Belfast city centre.

There were four early attackers -- Jeffry Johan Romero of Colombia, Maarten Tjallingii of Holland, Sander Armee of Belgium, and Andrea Fedi of Italy -- and they built a lead of six minutes before the peloton began to chase as they raced back towards Belfast.

Inside the final 12km the gap dropped below a minute as the Italian team Cannondale, working for their sprinter Elia Viviani, moved to the front and upped the pace.

Tjallingii launched a late solo bid for victory as the gap hovered around thirty seconds, but the leaders were on borrowed time.

Coming into Belfast, with the break swept up, the rain had stopped but the roads were wet and potentially treacherous.

However, the ninety-degree bend in the final kilometre was negotiated safely and it was Kittel, the winner of four stages at last year's Tour de France, who emerged at the front for a comfortable win.

The race continued in Northern Ireland having lost the local favourite, Dan Martin, who crashed during Friday's stage.

Martin was diagnosed with a broken collarbone and was set to have an operation in Dublin late on Saturday. He expects to be back on his bike in two weeks and could now target the Tour de France.

"Dan is good at putting things to one side," said his Garmin-Sharp team director, Charly Wegelius.

"He's obviously disappointed, because we're in Ireland, he had worked very hard for this and he's been going extremely well. But he's capable of picking other objectives and looking forward."

Giro d'Italia results after the second stage over 219km around Belfast on Saturday:


1. Marcel Kittel (GER/GIA) 5hr 13min 12sec (average: 41,954 km/h), 2. Nacer Bouhanni (FRA/FDJ) samte time, 3. Giacomo Nizzolo (ITA/TRE) s.t., 4. Elia Viviani (ITA/CAN) s.t., 5. Roberto Ferrari (ITA/LAM) s.t., 6. Manuel Belletti (ITA/AND) s.t., 7. Ben Swift (GBR/SKY) s.t., 8. Michael Matthews (AUS/ORI) s.t., 9. Davide Appollonio (ITA/ALM) s.t., 10. Tyler Farrar (USA/GRM) s.t., 11. Jetse Bol (NED/BKN) s.t., 12. Francesco Chicchi (ITA/NRI) s.t., 13. Tosh Van der Sande (BEL/LTB) s.t., 14. Leonardo Duque (COL/COL) s.t., 15. Nicola Ruffoni (ITA/BAR) s.t., 16. Tony Hurel (FRA/EUC) s.t., 17. Edwin Avila (COL/COL) s.t., 18. Sonny Colbrelli (ITA/BAR) s.t., 19. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/SKY) s.t., 20. Wilco Kelderman (NED/BKN) s.t.

Selected: 56. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC) at 0:03sec, 89. Svein Tuft (CAN/ORI) 0:03, 100. Ivan Basso (ITA/CAN) 0:03,.


1. Michael Matthews (AUS/ORI) 5hr 37min 54sec, 2. Luke Durbridge (AUS/ORI) 0:03, 3. Ivan Santaromita (ITA/ORI) 0:03, 4. Svein Tuft (CAN/ORI) 0:03, 5. Pieter Weening (NED/ORI) 0:03, 6. Cameron Meyer (AUS/ORI) 0:03, 7. Rigoberto Uran (COL/OPQ) 0:08, 8. Gianluca Brambilla (ITA/OPQ) 0:08, 9. Pieter Serry (BEL/OPQ) 0:08, 10. Alessandro Petacchi (ITA/OPQ) 0:08, 11. Serge Pauwels (BEL/OPQ) 0:08, 12. Julien Vermote (BEL/OPQ) 0:08, 13. Danilo Wyss (SUI/BMC) 0:10, 14. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC) 0:10, 15. Daniel Oss (ITA/BMC) 0:10, 16. Steve Morabito (SUI/BMC) 0:10, 17. Samuel Sanchez (ESP/BMC) 0:10, 18. Yannick Eijssen (BEL/BMC) 0:12, 19. Brett Lancaster (AUS/ORI) 0:25, 20. Wout Poels (NED/OPQ) 0:25.

Selected: 52. Ivan Basso (ITA/CAN) 0:56

Read more on:    giro d'italia  |  marcel kittel  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.