International Cycling

Kennaugh wins Dauphine Stage 1

2015-06-07 15:07
Peter Kennaugh (Gallo Images)

Paris - British road race champion Peter Kennaugh held off a fast-finishing group of riders to clinch the first stage of the Criterium du Dauphine at Albertville on Sunday.

The 25-year-old - like sprint great Mark Cavendish born in the Isle of Man - pounced 2km from the end of a 131.5km ride shortly after a long break had been reeled in after eight low category hills, one of them just 12km from Albertville.

With the kind of power that saw him crowned British champion in 2014, he was able to break away from and then hold off and win by two seconds from Sacha Modolo of Italy and Norwegian sprinter Edvald Boasson Hagen and the rest of a fast approaching mini-peloton.

"I waited until 2.5km out because I knew that was how long I could maintain the necessary effort," said Kennaugh, who hopes to now be selected for Sky's upcoming Tour de France team.

Kennaugh, a 2012 Olympic pursuit champion, pulled on the overall leader's yellow and blue jersey which he'll wear in Monday's second of eight stages, a 173km ride featuring two hard climbs.

"Chris (Froome, Sky's team leader) is here to win," said Kennaugh, harbouring no illusions about his place in the pecking order.

The race is loaded with star names as Vincenzo Nibali and Froome, the last two winners of the Tour de France and others fine tune their fitness for July's latest edition of the world's most famous cycling race.

Results from Sunday's opening stage of the Criterium du Dauphine, a 131.5km ride between Ugine and Albertville:


1. Peter Kennaugh (GBR/SKY) 3hrs 06min 51sec, 2. Sacha Modolo (ITA/LAM) at 02sec, 3. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/MTN) same time, 4. Tiesj Benoot (BEL/LOT) s.t., 5. Simon Gerrans (AUS/ORI) s.t., 6. Nacer Bouhanni (FRA/COF) s.t., 7. Jay McCarthy (AUS/TIN) s.t., 8. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) s.t., 9. Samuel Dumoulin (FRA/ALM) s.t, 10. Cyril Gautier (FRA/EUC) s.t.


1. Peter Kennaugh (GBR/SKY) 3hrs 06min 41sec, 2. Sacha Modolo (ITA/LAM) at 06sec, 3. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/MTN) at 08sec, 4. Tiesj Benoot (BEL/LOT) 12sec, 5. Simon Gerrans (AUS/ORI) same time, 6. Nacer Bouhanni (FRA/COF) s.t., 7. Jay McCarthy (AUS/TIN) s.t., 8. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) s.t., 9. Samuel Dumoulin (FRA/ALM) s.t., 10. Cyril Gautier (FRA/EUC) s.t., 11. Wilco Kelderman (NED/LNL) s.t., 12. Yannick Martinez (FRA/EUC) s.t., 13. Tobias Ludvigsson (SWE/GIA) s.t., 14. Jarlinson Pantano (COL/IAM) s.t., 15. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/ETI) s.t., 16. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) s.t., 17. Tony Gallopin (FRA/LOT) s.t., 18. Lawson Craddock (USA/GIA) s.t., 19. Jos Mendes (POR/BOA) s.t., 20. Rui Costa (POR/LAM) s.t.


28. Tony Martin (GER/ETI) at 12sec, 35. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) s.t., 42. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/AST) s.t., 54. Andrew Talansky (USA/CAN) s.t., 69. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) s.t., 73. Jean-Christophe Peraud (FRA/ALM) s.t.

Read more on:    cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.