International Cycling

Henao retains Basque lead

2015-04-10 23:19
Sergio Henao (Gallo Images)

Aia - Spain's Astana rider Mikel Landa won the fifth stage of the Tour of the Basque Country on Friday as Colombia's Sergio Henao maintained the overall lead.

The 25-year-old Landa clocked 4 hours 6 minutes 1 second over the 155.5km stage, with nine categorised peaks, to lead home Belgian Tim Wellens (Lotto-Soudal) and American Tom Danielson (Cannondale), the trio having made an early breakaway.

Finishing 56 seconds down on the winner, Henao arrived at the finish neck-and-neck with Spain's Katusha rider Joaquim Rodriguez.

In the overall standings, Henao and Rodriguez are level with just Saturday's 18.3km time-trial to race.

Colombia's Movistar rider Nairo Quintana had started the day on the same time as Henao and Rodriguez, but lost 12 seconds, allowing Simon Yates into third, at 7 seconds.

Results from the 155.5km fifth stage of the Tour of the Basque Country from Eibar to Aia on Friday:


1. Mikel Landa (ESP/AST) 4hr 06min 01sec, 2. Tim Wellens (BEL/LTS) at 3sec, 3. Tom Danielson (USA/TCG) 16, 4. Rein Taaramae (EST/AST) 28, 5. Tony Gallopin (FRA/LTS) 38, 6. Simon Yates (GBR/OGE) 53, 7. Sergio Luis Henao (COL/SKY) 56, 8. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) 56, 9. Tom Jelte Slagter (NED/TCG) 1:05, 10. Alexis Vuillermoz (FRA/ALM) 1:06, 11. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/EQS) 1:08


13. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 1:08, 17. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) 1:14, 19. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 1:22, 26. Jean-Christophe Peraud (FRA/ALM) 2:07


1. Sergio Luis Henao (COL/SKY) 21hr 20min 48sec, 2. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) same time, 3. Simon Yates (GBR/OGE) 7sec, 4. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 12, 5. Michele Scarponi (ITA/AST) 22, 6. Simon Spilak (SLO/KAT) 22, 7. Ilnur Zakarin (RUS/KAT) 28, 8. Ion Izagirre (ESP/MOV) 28, 9. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 36, 10. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) 36, 11. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/EQS) 42, 12. Rui Costa (POR/LAM) 44, 13. Rafal Majka (POL/TCS) 56

Read more on:    cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.