International Cycling

Felline takes Basque Stage 2

2015-04-07 19:15
Fabio Felline (AFP)

Vitoria - Italian Fabio Felline has edged out Australia's Michael Matthews to win the second stage, but the Orica-GreenEdge rider maintained his overall lead at the Tour of the Basque Country on Tuesday.

Felline pipped Matthews in a sprint finish to the line on the 175.4km ride from Bilbao to Vitoria in a time of 4hr 32min 32sec with France's Tony Gallopin in third.

Matthews retains the overall lead, though, having won the opening stage on Monday.

"I did not wait for Matthews, today I started my sprint first," said Felline.

"I was in a good position at the end and I was right to go early.

"I knew I had good legs and I came here with the intention to win a stage. With 40k to go I had a puncture, but the team was there to help me. All day they trusted in me. It is thanks to my team that I won. This is a dream."

Polish world champion Michal Kwiatowski was fourth, as race favourite Nairo Quintana finished safely amongst the peloton.

The start of the stage was delayed by a five minute protest from the riders in response to a serious crash towards the end of Monday's first stage which left five riders suffering bad injuries with the cause of the accident blamed on poorly marked traffic bollards.

Wednesday's third stage is another undulating 170.7km ride from Vitoria to Zumarraga with four peaks in the final 40 kilometres.

Results from the 175.4km second stage of the Tour of the Basque Country from Bilbao to Vitoria on Tuesday:

1. Fabio Felline (ITA/TFR) 4hr 32min 32sec, 2. Michael Matthews (AUS/OGE) at same time, 3. Tony Gallopin (FRA/LTS) s.t., 4. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/EQS) s.t., 5. Philippe Gilbert (BEL/BMC), 6. Kevin Reza (FRA/FDJ) s.t., 7. Julien Simon (FRA/COF) s.t., 8. Pello Bilbao (ESP/CJR) s.t., 9. Valerio Agnoli (ITA/AST) s.t., 10. Gianni Meersman (BEL/EQS) s.t.

Selected others

31. Jean-Christophe Peraud (FRA/ALM) s.t., 42. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) s.t., 56. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) s.t., 62. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) s.t.


1. Michael Matthews (AUS/OGE) 8hr 29min 39sec, 2. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/EQS) s.t, 3. Fabio Felline (ITA/TFR) s.t., 4. Tony Gallopin (FRA/LTS) s.t., 5. Kevin Reza (FRA/FDJ) s.t., 6. Julien Simon (FRA/COF) s.t., 7. Valerio Agnoli (ITA/AST) s.t, 8. Pello Bilbao (ESP/CJR) s.t., 9. Dani Moreno (ESP/KAT) s.t., 10. Petr Vakoc (CZE/EQS) s.t.

Selected others

26. Jean-Christophe Peraud (FRA/ALM) s.t., 36. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) s.t., 42. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) s.t., 49. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) s.t.


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.