International Cycling

Ewan claims landmark Vuelta win

2015-08-26 18:33
Caleb Ewan (Getty Images)

Vincenzo Nibali was disqualified from the Vuelta a España after TV pictures showed him catching a ride on a team car.

Alcala de Guadaira - Caleb Ewan celebrated the biggest win of his career on Wednesday, the 21-year-old Australian claiming the fifth stage of Spain's Vuelta with Dutch rider Tom Dumoulin the new overall leader.

Ewan, tackling his debut Vuelta, prevailed in a dash for the line after a 167.5 kilometre ride from Rota to Alcala de Guadaira.

His teammate, Johan Esteban Chaves, started the day in possession of the leader's red jersey but by the end of the stage he'd been relegated to second in the general classification, albeit by only one second to Team Giant-Alpecin's Dumoulin.

Dumoulin came in 15th with Chaves in 20th in the stage.

In third, 16 seconds back, was Team Sky's Irish rider Nicolas Roche.

Ewan's win was made all the sweeter as he crossed the line with specialist sprinters John Degenkolb of Germany - whose big race wins include the Milan-SanRemo and Paris-Roubaix - and Slovakia's Peter Sagan - a four time winner of the Tour de France points classification - in his wake.

Ewan was set up for his breakthrough success in perfect style by other members of his team in the final 50 metres.

"This is by far the best day of my career," he smiled.

"To beat some of the top sprinters in the world, especially riders like Degenkolb or Sagan, on a climbing finish like that, that means a lot to me."

Ewan, for whom this is a first shot at one of the Grand Tours, added: "It's an honour to compete against riders like that."

Sagan was well placed in second but he was put in his place by the promising Aussie who came round the German to take the honours.

Thursday's sixth stage is a 200.3km ride from Cordoba and Sieera de Cazorla with a finish on a third category summit.

Results from Vuelta fifth stage, a 167.3km ride from Rota to Alcala de Guadaira on Wednesday:


1. Caleb Ewan (AUS/ORI) 3h57min 28sec (average: 42.3 km/h), 2. John Degenkolb (GER/GIA) same time, 3. Peter Sagan (SVK/TIN) 0:00, 4. Jempy Drcker (LUX/BMC) 0:00, 5. Jose Joaquin Rojas (ESP/MOV) at 0:02sec, 6. Kristian Sbaragli (ITA/MTN) 0:02, 7. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA/ALM) 0:02, 8. Daniel Moreno (ESP/KAT) 0:02, 9. Tosh Van der Sande (BEL/LOT) 0:02, 10. Nikolas Maes (BEL/ETI) 0:02, 11. Tom Van Asbroeck (BEL/LNL) 0:02, 12. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 0:02, 13. Cyril Lemoine (FRA/COF) 0:02, 14. Fabio-Leonardo Duque (COL/COL) 0:02, 15. Tom Dumoulin (NED/GIA) 0:02, 16. Dennis van Winden (NED/LNL) 0:02, 17. Samuel Sanchez (ESP/BMC) 0:02, 18. Rafal Majka (POL/TIN) 0:02, 19. Joaquin Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) 0:08, 20. Jasper Stuyven (BEL/TRE) 0:08


21. Esteban Chaves (COL/ORI) 0:08, 22. Nicolas Roche (IRL/SKY) 0:08, 26. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 0:08. 33. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 0:08


1. Tom Dumoulin (NED/GIA) 17h09min 06sec, 2. Esteban Chaves (COL/ORI) at 0:01sec, 3. Nicolas Roche (IRL/SKY) 0:16, 4. Daniel Martin (IRL/CAN) 0:25, 5. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 0:29, 6. Daniel Moreno (ESP/KAT) 0:31, 7. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 0:35, 8. Joaquin Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) 0:36, 9. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 0:37, 10. Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) 0:48, 11. Mikel Landa (ESP/AST) 0:52, 12. Mikel Nieve (ESP/SKY) 0:52, 13. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 0:56, 14. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA/ALM) 0:59, 15. Gianluca Brambilla (ITA/ETI) 1min 05sec, 16. Sergio Henao (COL/SKY) 1:07, 17. Rafal Majka (POL/TIN) 1:09, 18. Luis Leon Sanchez (ESP/AST) 1:15, 19. Andr Cardoso (POR/CAN) 1:16, 20. Louis Meintjies (RSA/MTN) 1:31

Read more on:    cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.