International Cycling

Evans in pink at Giro

2014-05-17 18:44
Cadel Evans (AP Photo)

Montecopiolo - Veteran Australian Cadel Evans replaced compatriot Michael Matthews in the overall leader's pink jersey following the 179 kilometres eighth stage of the Giro d'Italia on Saturday from Foligno to Montecopiolo.

The 37-year-old Evans, Tour de France champion in 2011 and third in this race last year, came fifth in the stage, eight seconds adrift of Italian Diego Ulissi, who was winning his second stage of this year's race.

Matthews, who had led for a week, was already a quarter-of-an-hour behind approaching the final climb which was 6.4km long.

Evans, who saw one of his main rivals for overall victory Joaquim Rodriguez crash out on Thursday when he broke three ribs, holds a lead of 57 seconds over Colombian Rigoberto Uran while Polish rider Rafal Majka is third, 1min 10sec adrift.

Ulissi, who won the fifth stage on Wednesday, came home ahead of Croatian Robert Kiserlovski with Wilko Kelderman of the Netherlands third.

It was the 24-year-old's third career stage win in the race.

Frenchman Pierre Rolland had seen victory snatched from his hands 250m from the line after he had chased down and passed Colombian Julian Arredondo.

Arredondo had been part of a group that had escaped from the peloton early in the stage and he had gone clear on the first climb of the stage the Carpegna, where the late legendary Italian climbing specialist Marco Pantani used to train.

Sunday's ninth stage is the 172km ride from Lugo to Sestola, with the climax a 16.5km climb.

Result of the eighth stage of the Giro d'Italia, over 179km from Foligno Montecopiolo, on Saturday:


1. Diego Ulissi (ITA/Lampre) 4hr 47min 47sec(average: 37,31 km/h),
2. Robert Kiserlovski (CRO/TRE) same time,
3. Wilco Kelderman (NED/BKN) at 06sec,
4. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 06,
5. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC) 08,
6. Rigoberto Uran (COL/OPQ) 08,
7. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA/ALM) 08,
8. Rafal Majka (POL/TIN) 14,
9. Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) 17,
10. Ryder Hesjedal (CAN/GRM) 20.


1. Cadel Evans (Australia / BMC Racing) 34:22:35"
2. Rigoberto Uran (Colombia / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) +57" \
3. Rafal Majka (Poland / Tinkoff - Saxo) +1:10"
4. Steve Morabito (Switzerland / BMC Racing) +1:31"
5. Fabio Aru (Italy / Astana) +1:39"
6. Diego Ulissi (Italy / Lampre) +1:43"
7. Wilco Kelderman (Netherlands / Belkin) +1:44"
8. Nairo Quintana (Colombia / Movistar) +1:45"
9. Robert Kiserlovski (Croatia / Trek) +1:49"
10. Domenico Pozzovivo (Italy / AG2R) +1:50"

Read more on:    giro d'italia  |  cadel evans  |  cycling

WWE set to take SA by storm

2017-12-11 08:58

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.