International Cycling

Dumoulin retains Vuelta lead

2015-09-10 18:44
Tom Dumoulin (File)

Riaza - Ireland's Nicholas Roche claimed the 18th stage of Spain's Vuelta on Thursday as Dutch rider Tom Dumoulin maintained his three second advantage over Italian Fabio Aru in the overall standings.

Roche was part of a 25-man breakaway early in the stage and held off Spain's Haimar Zubeldia on the descent to the finish to win the 204km stage from Roa to Riaza in a time of 5hr 03min 59sec, with Portugal's Jose Goncalves in third.

Aru attacked several times on the climb up Puerto de la Quesera just before the finish, but couldn't distance Dumoulin as all the top contenders finished 38 seconds back

Stage 18

1. Nicolas Roche (IRL/SKY) 5hr 03min 59sec, 2. Haimar Zubeldia (ESP/TRE) at 0:00, 3. Jose Goncalves (POR/CJR) 0:18, 4. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 0:38, 5. Esteban Chaves (COL/ORI) s.t., 6. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) s.t., 7. Pieter Serry (BEL/ETI) s.t., 8. Adam Hansen (AUS/LOT) s.t., 9. Gianluca Brambilla (ITA/ETI) s.t., 10. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA/ALM) s.t., 11. Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) s.t., 12. Rafal Majka (POL/TIN) s.t., 13. Andre Cardoso (POR/CAN) s.t., 14. Mikel Nieve (ESP/SKY) s.t., 15. Tom Dumoulin (NED/GIA) s.t., 16. Bart De Clercq (BEL/LOT) s.t., 17. Louis Meintjes (RSA/MTN) s.t., 18. Jose Joaquin Rojas (ESP/MOV) s.t., 19. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) s.t., 20. Daniel Moreno (ESP/KAT) s.t.


1. Tom Dumoulin (NED/GIA) 73hr 45min 13sec, 2. Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) at 0:03, 3. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) 1:15, 4. Rafal Majka (POL/TIN) 2:22, 5. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 2:53, 6. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 3:15, 7. Esteban Chaves (COL/ORI) 3:30, 8. Daniel Moreno (ESP/KAT) 3:46, 9. Mikel Nieve (ESP/SKY) 4:10, 10. Louis Meintjes (RSA/MTN) 6:51, 11. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA/ALM) 7:41, 12. Gianluca Brambilla (ITA/ETI) 10:47, 13. Fabrice Jeandesboz (FRA/EUC) 13:15m, 14. Bart De Clercq (BEL/LOT) 13:38, 15. Romain Sicard (FRA/EUC) 18:06, 16. Kenny Elissonde (FRA/FDJ) 18:21, 17. Andre Cardoso (POR/CAN) 19:37, 18. Stephane Rossetto (FRA/COF) 21:55, 19. David Arroyo (ESP/CJR) 30:04, 20. Giovanni Visconti (ITA/MOV) 35:46.

Read more on:    tom dumoulin  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.