International Cycling

Dumoulin extends Vuelta lead

2015-09-11 18:47
Tom Dumoulin (File)

Madrid - France's Alexis Gouegard won the 19th stage of Spain's Vuelta on Friday as Dutchman Tom Dumoulin extended his lead over Fabio Aru to six seconds.

Gouegard was part of a 24-man breakaway that built up an unassailable lead over the peloton before attacking 22km from the line to take the 185.8km stage from Medina del Campo to Avila ahead Portugal's Nelson Oliveira and Belgian Maxime Monfort in a time of 4hr 19min 20sec.

The leading contenders were still 15km from the line when Gouegard finished, but Dumoulin managed to eke out another three seconds on Aru in the final kilometre to add to his three-second overnight lead.

Aru will have his chance to overcome the Giant-Alpecin rider on Saturday's penultimate stage that contains four category one climbs likely to favour the Italian, who is the more accomplished climber.

"These are hard days and everyone is attacking me. I feel good, there is always stress but I can handle it otherwise I wouldn't be in red today," Dumoulin told Television Espanola.

"It is going to be a very exciting day tomorrow. Anything can happen, but I am staying positive."

Aru is aiming to go one better than his second place finish at the Giro d'Italia earlier this year, but was lucky to escape unharmed after suffering a small crash midway through the stage.

The Astana rider quickly caught back up with the peloton, but unlike on Thursday when Dumoulin had to neutralise a series of attacks, Aru didn't try to distance himself from the 24-year-old.

And it was Dumoulin who finished the stronger through a cobbled final kilometre to slightly increase his lead.

The 175.8km stage on Saturday takes the riders from San Lorenzo de El Escorial to Cercedilla before the race finishes with a parade around the centre of Madrid on Sunday.

Results from the 19th stage of Spain's Vuelta, a 185.8km ride from Medina del Campo to Avila on Friday:


1. Alexis Gougeard (FRA/ALM) 4hr 19min 20sec, 2. Nelson Oliveira (POR/LAM) at 40 sec, 3. Maxime Monfort (BEL/LOT) 0:44, 4. Audrey Amador (CRC/MOV) 0:44, 5. Tiago Machado (POR/KAT) 0:44, 6. Amael Moinard (FRA/BMC) 0:44, 7. Fabio Duarte (COL/COL) 0:53, 8. David Arroyo (ESP/CJR) 1:03, 9. Christian Knees (GER/SKY) 1:17, 10. Francisco Ventoso (ESP/MOV) 1:17


1. Tom Dumoulin (NED/GIA) 78 hr 20min 51sec, 2. Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) at 0:06, 3. Joaquin Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) 1:24, 4. Rafal Majka (POL/TIN) 2:31, 5. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 3:02, 6. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 3:24, 7. Esteban Chaves (COL/ORI) 3:39, 8. Daniel Moreno (ESP/KAT) 3:46, 9. Mikel Nieve (ESP/SKY) 4:19, 10. Louis Meintjies (RSA/MTN) 7:00

Read more on:    tom dumoulin  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.