International Cycling

Double gold for Oz at worlds

2014-09-22 18:29
Campbell Flakemore (AFP)

Ponferrada - Campbell Flakemore and Macey Stewart gave Australia a golden double at the cycling World Championships in Ponferrada, Spain on Monday.

Flakemore won the men's Under-23 time trial event, beating Ireland's Ryan Mullan by just half a second, with Switzerland's Stefan Kueng, the last rider away, snatching third.

It was Australia's fourth win in six years in the event - the two years they didn't win they took silver.

Teenager Stewart won the women's junior 13.9km time trial event ahead of Denmark's Pernille Mathiesen by almost 11 seconds while another Aussie, Anna-Leeza Hull pipped team-mate Alexandra Manly, third last year, by just half a second for the bronze.

It wasn't just double glory for Australia, though, as both riders come from Tasmania, just like Team Sky's Richie Porte.

"It's obviously a cool start for Australia, we've always had strong time trialists like (former Under-23 winners) Jack Bobridge, Damien Howson and Luke Durbridge," said Flakemore.

"It's a tradition I'm happy to continue. Macey won this morning and she's from Tasmania like me so it's pretty cool for Tasmania to get two gold medals."

Flakemore, who came fourth a year ago, put in a blistering sprint finish on the 36.15km course to wrench the gold medal out of a clearly disappointed Mullen's hands.

"I can't even explain it, I thought I might hang on but I got everything out, I took as many risks as I could. I can't take anything away, the better guy won," said Mullen.

But there was more disappointment for Portugal's Rafael Reis, who had long been sitting in a podium position but saw his medal hopes go up in smoke as Flakemore and Kueng came home as two of the last three riders.

Results from the Cycling World Championships in Ponferrada, Spain on Monday:

Junior women's time trial - 13.9km
1. Macey Stewart (AUS) 20min 8.39sec
2. Pernille Mathiesen (DEN) at 10.79sec
3. Anna-Leeza Hull (AUS) 13.31
4. Alexandra Manly (AUS) 13.81
5. Emma White (USA) 26.47

Under-23 men's time trial - 35.5km
1. Campbell Flakemore (AUS) 43min 49.94sec
2. Ryan Mullen (IRL) at 0.48sec
3. Stefan Kueng (SUI) 9.22
4. Rafael Reis (POR) 19.32
5. Maximilian Schachmann (GER) 37.84


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.